Stripping Her Defenses (Ex Ops #2) by Jessie Lane

SHD EbookHe can’t change the scars on her body…
but fate will give him a second chance to mend the scars he put on her heart.

Riley Sullivan and the Ex Ops Team are headed to Miami undercover… as bikers. Following up a lead, the men will perform their investigation acting as members of the Regulators Motorcycle Club with the club’s permission. Surrounded by hardcore bikers and investigating missing strippers, Riley finds the last person he ever expected to see again—his ex-wife.

Kara Sullivan left the man she loved after a tragic accident cost them their unborn son. After years of therapy, she’s come to grips with the loss and has re-emerged from the pain a brand new person. That doesn’t mean she’s ready to face the man who inadvertently broke her heart, and who she’s hurt in return.

Riley has never stopped loving her and he never will. He’s ready to fix their marriage and move on with their lives, however Kara’s reluctance to renew their relationship isn’t their only problem. Danger lurks just around the corner… and there’s a chance she could disappear permanently.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1A couple of confessions…. First – I skipped the first book and went right into the second. Yeah, I know. I warn readers about that all the time. Only because I do it all the time and I know how frustrating it can be. The good news is that even though there are things that I really want to know and things that I want to go back and find out, I wasn’t lost. Second – even though I knew better, I judged a character before getting the whole story. So basically, this whole intro is another perfect example of ‘do as I say, not as I do’ and since it’s been a while since I’ve given out that sage wisdom, I don’t feel bad about it at all. 😉 Now, on to the review.

This book covers a lot of ground. It starts out in the past and then jumps to a flashback in the present. Wow! For that reason alone, I have to say, I wish Stripping Her Defenses was just a little bit longer. The back story was necessary. It not only gave readers a glimpse of where these characters came from, it also put them right in the middle of the pain that they both experienced. I have to admit, in the beginning I didn’t really like Kara. The more I got to know her, the more I began to understand her and eventually really liked her. Riley I loved from the beginning. It goes without saying that my heart broke for both of them. For a lot of reasons, this wasn’t an easy book to read. Honestly, with all that these characters went through, it’s amazing that either one of them came through in one piece.

Stripping Her Defenses had pretty much everything you could want in a Suspense/Military/Romance. Too many alpha males to count, danger, heat, action and loss…. the only thing that I wish it had was more… *sigh*

The supporting characters were great as well. I also liked the POV switches between Kara and Riley. It not only kept things interesting, it kept the pages turning.

I can’t wait to go back and pick up Secret Maneuvers, the first book in Jessie Lane’s Ex Ops series.  Honestly though, I can’t decide if I’m looking forward more to the next book in this series, Sweet Recovery, or the first book in the Regulators MC series, Ice – a collaborative series by Jessie Lane and Chelsea Camaron. It’s definitely a toss-up. 😉

DragonFlyRating4

Stripping Her Defenses Blog Tour

SHD - tour banner

Title: Stripping Her Defenses (Ex Ops, #2)

Author: Jessie Lane

Released Date: October 31, 2014

Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/qmRmh30oAl0

goodreads

 

Blurb

SHD - teaser5He can’t change the scars on her body…
but fate will give him a second chance to mend the scars he put on her heart.

Riley Sullivan and the Ex Ops Team are headed to Miami undercover… as bikers. Following up a lead, the men will perform their investigation acting as members of the Regulators Motorcycle Club with the club’s permission. Surrounded by hardcore bikers and investigating missing strippers, Riley finds the last person he ever expected to see again—his ex-wife.

Kara Sullivan left the man she loved after a tragic accident cost them their unborn son. After years of therapy, she’s come to grips with the loss and has re-emerged from the pain a brand new person. That doesn’t mean she’s ready to face the man who inadvertently broke her heart, and who she’s hurt in return.

Riley has never stopped loving her and he never will. He’s ready to fix their marriage and move on with their lives, however Kara’s reluctance to renew their relationship isn’t their only problem. Danger lurks just around the corner… and there’s a chance she could disappear permanently.

Excerpt

SHD EbookOn the outside, I always portrayed a quiet façade, which was in direct opposition of the truth. My brain was always going at what usually felt li ke a million miles an hour. If I wasn’t mentally running over the specifics of our current mission, then nine times out of ten, my brain was somewhere buried in the past, drifting between the good times and the bad. Focused on the one person who’d ever hurt me and whom I’d hurt irreparably in return. My wife, Kara. Or, as my brother Declan liked to remind me all too often, my ex-wife. Too bad the heart in my chest never seemed to agree with Dec’s correction. To it, she would always be wife, no ex in front of her title. Maybe that was why I couldn’t see m to work up the motivation  to move on with life. Who wanted to live l ife to the fullest when you felt like half of yourself was off somewhere in the world, missing from your side?
Taking one last drag off my Marlboro, I pinched the red hot cherry off the end, stomped it out with my new black leather motorcycle boot, and then stuck the leftover filter in my pocket. It was a habit I’d started to keep Kara from bitching at me for littering my cigarette butts all over the place when we’d still been together. Wasn’t it funny how a relationship could die a tragic death, but old habits were still hard to break?

 

Ex Ops

Stripping Her Defenses (Ex Ops, #2)

Amazon | All Romance Ebooks | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Smashwords

Secret Maneuvers (Ex Ops, #1)

Goodreads | Amazon | All Romance Ebooks | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Smashwords

About the Author

1779755_448323075302709_6745777953644508512_n

Facebook | Goodreads | Website | Twitter | Newsletter sign up | Amazon Author Page

Jessie Lane is the best selling author of The Star Series, Big Bad Bite Series and the Ex Ops Series.

She lives in Kentucky with her two little Rock Chicks in the making and her over protective alpha husband. She has a passionate love for reading and writing naughty romance, cliff hanging suspense, and out-of-this-world characters that demand your attention, or threaten to slap you around until you do pay attention to them.

Jessie writes Adult Paranormal and Contemporary Romance & Upper YA Fantasy/Paranormal Romance.

Giveaway! 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 Coming Soon from Jessie Lane and Chelsea Camaron

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000040_00014]

ICE (Regulators MC, #1)

Release Date: December 8, 2014

Model: Shawn Dawson

Photographer: Golden Czermak/Furious Fotog

Cover Designer: Mina Carter

goodreads

Loosely attached to Chelsea Camaron’s Hellions Series and Jessie Lane’s Ex Ops Series.

She’s an investment banker.
He’s an outlaw biker.
A little bit of heaven is about to meet a whole lot of hell.

Morgan Powell was raised to be perfect, to set an example for her sisters to follow. Her life has been dedicated to making something of her career, so she wouldn’t know what to do with a man even if you gave her an instruction manual.

Brett ‘Ice’ Grady spends his days trying to keep up with his teenage daughter, his nights consumed in Regulators’ MC business. He has no time for anything more than a casual hookup.

Two worlds collide when the dangers of his life crash into the calm of hers.

Can she go beyond her own boundaries and chip her way through to the man known to be as cold as ice?

 

love 2