Altered States (Altered States #0.5) by Laura Harner

AlteredStatesNew Orleans Police Detective Sam Garrett can’t believe his
bad luck when he’s assigned to investigate a string of gay-bashings turned deadly in the French Quarter. Especially when he realizes Travis Boudreaux, his new, hot, and most-likely-straight partner, plans to use him as bait. The worst part? They’ve got no back-up because the rest of the city is preoccupied by another series of killings — the victims drained of blood.

This is the prequel for the book, Deep Blues Goodbye, by L.E. Harner and T.A. Webb. 

Warning: In this series the vampires don’t sparkle, werewolves kill, and sometimes the men have sex. With each other.

For those of you who doubt the ‘freebie’ method of selling books… Altered States was a ‘freebie’. It caught me totally off guard and as a direct result of reading said ‘freebie,’ I will be purchasing at least one if not more of the rest books in the series. For the record, this is not the first time that this has happened. It’s actually a common occurrence. Lesson learned. 😉

As you’ve gathered, Altered States caught me by surprise. It’s one of those instances where I didn’t read ‘all’ of the description before I downloaded the book. I can’t remember exactly how it was brought to my attention, but I’m definitely glad that it was. The writing style grabbed me as well as the characters. Sam Garrett was an interesting character and Travis soon became a favorite as well. The story was short and sweet and even though the ending made me want to grab the next book immediately, it wasn’t a case of ‘I didn’t get enough’… it was more a case of ‘what happens next.’

Deep Blues Goodbye is the first ‘official’ book in the Altered States series and it is co-authored by T.A. Webb. I can’t wait to see what happens next.

DragonFlyRating4

Leave a Reply

