Through the Veil (Through the Veil #1) by Christi Snow

ThroughTheVeil58 years ago a gorge opened up from Mobile, AL to Quebec City, Canada to split the United States into the Western States (WS) and the Eastern States (ES)

40 years later a fog rolled in on the WS that they called the Veil. Within twelve hours it formed an impenetrable wall between the two sides.

It’s been 18 years since anyone has known what’s happening on the other side of the Veil.

Now, Lori, an Other, in a desperate attempt at escape from the ES’s torture and experimentation, has crossed the Veil and found a world beyond belief.

Marcus is a Warrior, but when Lori collapses at his feet wounded and exhausted, he knows he has to protect her. But seeing that she’s the first person he’s seen in 18 years without wings, he’s worried about what her appearance means for his people and the world they’ve created since the Veil fell.

Two new societies: one built on a respect for the natural order of nature and the world, the other built on mistrust and corruption. Can they learn to co-exist once again?

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1Christi Snow has had me as a fan since I read the prologue in Operation Endgame, her first book in the When the Mission Ends series. That was several books ago and even though I knew that I was going to like Through the Veil, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. See, When the Mission Ends is a Contemporary series. It was actually one of the first Contemporary series that I read. Through the Veil is a PNR series. Not only that, it’s also apocalyptic. Although I love PNR – it is, after all, my g0-to genre – apocalyptic books go kind of slow for me. It usually takes me a while to wrap my head around the world so I get a little nervous each time I pick one up – especially when it’s from an author I already love. So, when I picked up Through the Veil I did so with just a little bit of trepidation. I should have known better. Lori’s introduction pulled me in. Marcus’ introduction broke my heart. The world building had me totally intrigued. Needless to say, I’m hooked.

Through the Veil is actually comprised of two totally different worlds. The Eastern States and the Western States went through totally different transformations after the shift that caused the Veil. The Eastern States had a Dystopian feel, while the Western States were almost magical. Things weren’t perfect in the Western States, but people faired a lot better there. It was definitely the side of the gorge that I would have wanted to end up.

Then there were the characters. Of course Marcus and Lori took center stage but the supporting characters were just as interesting. The society within the Western States was so tight knit that it didn’t take long to get to know them and get totally wrapped up in their relationships. I can’t wait to get to know them all just a little bit better.

As for the story itself… there was plenty of romance, lots of mystery, plenty of danger and a touch of humor. It’s one of those stories that’s hard to put down and you’re sad when it ends. If I had one complaint it would be that I wanted more… but that’s a normal reaction with this author. Even though the next book doesn’t center around Lori and Marcus I’m pretty sure we haven’t seen the last of them. I have a few predictions where they are concerned and I can’t wait to find out if any of my hunches are right. 😉

DragonFlyGreen4-5

4 comments on “Through the Veil (Through the Veil #1) by Christi Snow

    • Just be fore-warned. The next book in the series doesn’t come out until NEXT FALL! No cliff-hanger…. unless you consider some characters being left in mortal danger at the end a cliff hanger. o.O Yeah, you’re gonna want the next book sooner.

Leave a Reply

