Moon of the Terrible & Red Rose Moon (Cain Chronicles 3 & 4) by S.M. Reine – Bout-of-Books 11.0 Review

Because these two books are so short I decided to review them together. I’ll try to keep the events separate, but I’m not making any promises. No spoilers…. at least nothing intentional. In other words… continue reading at your own risk. 😉

Moon of the Terrible
MoonOfTheTerribleAbel is struggling to find his footing at the werewolf sanctuary when he receives terrible news: the girl he loves and his brother have vanished. Seth calls to claim that they’re eloping, but Abel knows it’s a lie. There’s no way that Rylie would get married without telling him. Not when the memory of her scorching kiss is still burning on his lips.

Certain that something is wrong, Abel drops everything to rescue Rylie and Seth – and stake his claim over his mate.

Honestly, when I finally finish this series I’m going to start it all over again. So much happens in these books and it’s so intertwined. That doesn’t even take into consideration the fact that these characters all come back in S.M. Reine’s Ascension series. Yeah, I see a HUGE re-read marathon in my future. *sigh*

The Cain Chronicles mark a turning point for Rylie and everyone around her. She may be the Alpha and her wolf may be stronger than any one else’s but she still had human drama to deal with. Since I skipped this series and went right to the Ascension series before I even finished the Seasons of the Moon series, I was a little confused about how the Rylie, Seth, Abel triangle actually happened. This series clears everything up. Up until now, I didn’t really like Abel – Moon of the Terrible was my turn around point. Readers have been getting to know him a little bit better with each book and even though I haven’t changed my opinion about Seth, I finally understand the ‘why’ of it all.

S.M. Reine doesn’t make things easy for her characters. She has basically put all three of these characters in an impossible situation that they have no control over. I promised no spoilers, so you’ll just have to continue the series to completely understand.

If the internal battle between Seth, Rylie and Abel wasn’t bad enough, they’ve got a lot of external battles going on that make things even more complicated. Then there was the ending… yeah, I knew it was coming but it was still jaw dropping. Needless to say, I picked up Red Rose Moon immediately….

DragonFlyRating5

Red Rose Moon

RedRoseMoonRylie Gresham, Alpha of the endangered werewolf species, is pregnant. The fact that she’s only eighteen and maybe a tiny bit in love with her boyfriend’s brother isn’t even the worst part: the baby is going to be a werewolf, too. Certain that Seth is the father, she finally agrees to marry him, even if her heart is still filled with doubt.

Abel is being held captive by Cain when he hears about Rylie’s condition – and the shocking circumstances surrounding the conception. Rylie and Abel have been mating on the full moons, so there’s a chance that he’s the father, and she has no clue. Now Abel has to escape Cain and crash the wedding before his mate marries his brother.

A zombie mother-in-law, back-stabbing hunters, and wicked morning sickness mean that they’re all in for one heck of a party.

Just when I didn’t think things could get more intense…. well, it’s S.M. Reine, so I should have known better. Once I picked up Red Rose Moon there was no putting it down.

The synopsis pretty much says it all, so there’s not a whole lot more to add without giving anything away. There were some huge twists in this one though. Some that I never saw coming, honestly. There were people that I wanted to strangle and then there was Abel… I fell in love with him just a little bit more in Red Rose Moon. Since I’ve read ahead… I know how things end up. I’m really going to enjoy the rest of the journey though.

CainChroniclesThis is the last book in the Cain Chronicles set. The last books are individual full length books and lucky for me, I have Dark Moon Rising, Of Wings and Wolves and Alpha Moon ready and waiting. 😉

DragonFlyRating5

Leave a Reply

