Asylum (Causal Enchantment #2) by K.A. Tucker – Bout-of-Books 11.0 Review

AsylumTucked away in Sofie’s wintery asylum with no hope of release for years, Evangeline must come to terms with her situation: the curse still plagues her, she’s now hunted by a two thousand-year-old vampire, and the guy she’s in love with tried to kill her. Plus, she’s locked up with a cranky Max and the Forero kids—two people everyone seems to prefer dead over alive. Things aren’t looking good.

Meanwhile, back in Manhattan, Sofie struggles to keep forty trapped and bloodthirsty Ratheus vampires at bay and a desperate Viggo from killing Evangeline’s friends, all while hints stir outside the walls of the NYC vampire asylum of a war brewing between the Sentinel and the witches.

Is there any hope for Evangeline and Caden? Can Sofie control the rival powers? Is the fate of Earth predestined?

I would imagine that at least a few people reading this didn’t even know that K.A. Tucker had written a series before Ten Tiny Breaths. I’ve read the first two books in that series and loved them. My first introduction to this author’s talented writing came from this series though. From the first time I read Anathema, I was hooked. Putting the Causal Enchantment series on my Seriously Series reading list was inevitable.

Asylum begins where Anathema ended. Even though it’s been a while since I read the first book in the series, it didn’t take me long to catch up. I wouldn’t recommend leaving a long time span between the two though, because a lot happens. There are twists and turns and the players change from chapter to chapter. What made it even more complicated was the fact that there were not only two POV to follow, but those characters were in two totally different venues. Sofie sent Evangeline away to keep her safe, but neither one of them had any real idea of what was going on with the other. Each character had their own drama going on and danger to ward off. They also had to learn to put their trust in others and form allies where they never expected to and in some cases probably shouldn’t have. Yes, things were complicated.

Only one thing kept me from giving Asylum a full 5 stars…. I loved the characters, the story kept me interested and on the edge of my seat the closer it got to the end and even though it ended in a cliff hanger that I kind of saw coming, it wasn’t nearly as jaw dropping as the end of Anathema (I still purchased the next book before I was finished… just in case.) What held back that last 1/2 star was Evangeline. She made a rash decision that pretty much changed everything (not to mention keeping some pretty volatile secrets that will more than likely endanger her even more.) I understand why she did what she did, something had to happen… I just wish there was another way. *sigh* I suppose I’ll just have to trust the author to fix this in the next two books. 😉 Allegiance is next, so stay tuned!

CausalEnchantmentSeriesOne last thing… if you are planning on reading this series, consider purchasing the boxed set that contains all four books. Even if you take advantage of, Anathema still being offered FREE as of the time this was posted, the set is still considerably cheaper than buying each book individually. And yes, this is another ‘do as I say, not as I do’ kind of statement. You can thank me later 😉

DragonFlyGreen4-5

Leave a Reply

