Sins of Eden (Ascension #7) by S.M. Reine – Bout-of-Books 11.0 Review

SinsOfEdenThere have always been three gods. Always. Until Elise Kavanagh murdered them. 

A demon named Belphegor has entered the Origin and become a new god, triggering genesis: the death and rebirth of the entire universe. He wants Elise to join him in Eden for the end of all things, but only once she’s watched everyone she cares about die painfully under his heel.

With nothing but a dwindling army of werewolves, Elise must enter Eden, slaughter Belphegor, and stop the genesis. But Belphegor’s smarter than Adam ever was, and far crueler. He’s spent lifetimes preparing for this. 

He will have his world of Hellfire. He will have victory. And he will have Elise’s life…

This book was both everything I expected it to be and nothing like I expected. Have I lost you?

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1Sins of Eden marks the end of S.M. Reine’s Ascension series. What did I expect? Well, considering that this author is notorious for not holding back or sugar coating anything, I expected the intensity, the danger and the loss. What I didn’t expect was the level of any of those things. There were times while I was reading Sins of Eden that I was absolutely crushed by what these characters were experiencing.

I’d love to go on and on and on about everything that I both hated and loved about this book… I just can’t. Partially because I can’t find the words, but mostly because just about anything I say will give something away. This is a book that you need to experience yourself. It’s one that I want to talk about and one that I want to re-read so I can experience it all over again. As far as series ends go, there are few that have come to a more satisfying end than the Ascension series for me.

I’m going to tell readers this one more time. If you haven’t read any books by S.M. Reine, pick one up now. Don’t start with this series though. To get the full affect and become as emotionally invested in these characters as you need to be, start at the beginning. I started with the Seasons of the Moon (Rylie, Seth & Abel) series. You could also start with the Descent (Elise & James) series. The Ascension series combines the two, so the background is important.

I still have some back tracking to do, but it won’t take me long to catch up. Once I do, I’ll start the Ascension series all over again and wait patiently for more.



2 comments on “Sins of Eden (Ascension #7) by S.M. Reine – Bout-of-Books 11.0 Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s