Bout-of-Books 11.0 Goals (August 18-24, 2014)

BoutOfBooks-880x400-03

It’s that time again! The fact that I love this week of reading mayhem is never going to change. Sure I don’t get much sleep and I put myself into a reading/review frenzy, which ironically isn’t a lot different than the norm. The difference is that I’m doing it with a whole bunch of great bloggers and readers that are doing the same thing. Plus, there’s no competition, no pressure and a whole lot of silliness and shenanigans thrown into the mix. I get to visit blogs, meet new bloggers and even find new reads to add to my TBR list. What could be more fun?

Just in case you’re new to Bout-of-Books, here’s the official Blurb direct from Kelly and Amanda:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 12th and runs through Sunday, May 18th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 10 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

Now for the fun part! I get to list my goals 😉 Last time I devoted the week to my Seriously Series list. Since I didn’t even come close to putting even a tiny dent in that list, I’ve decided to do it again. So, once again I’ll be pulling my Bout-of-Books 11 reads off my 2014  Seriously Series list. Here’s what I plan to choose from:

  1. Asylum (Causal Enchantment #2) by KA Tucker (252 Pages)
  2. With All My Soul (Soul Screamers #7) by Rachel Vincent (396 Pages)
  3. Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night (Immortals After Dark #4) by Kresley Cole (359 Pages)
  4. Tommy Nightmare (Paranormals #2) by JL Bryan (284 Pages)
  5. When You Dare (Men Who Walk the Edge of Honor #1) by Lori Foster (448 Pages)
  6. Enslaved (Eternal Guardians #5) by Elisabeth Naughton (374 Pages)
  7. Last Breath (Morganville Vampires #11) by Rachel Caine (335 Pages)
  8. Moon of the Terrible (Seasons of the Moon: Cain Chronicles #3) by S.M. Reine (59 Pages)
  9. Red Rose Moon (Seasons of the Moon: Cain Chronicles #4) by S.M. Reine (73 Pages)
  10. Dark Union (Descent #3) by S.M. Reine (115 Pages)
  11. Lover Unbound (Black Dagger Brotherhood #5) by J.R. Ward (502 Pages – Re-read)
  12. Sins of Eden (Ascension #7) by S.M. Reine (294 Pages)

As usual, that’s a lot of books and also as usual, I don’t plan on reading them all. The books aren’t in any particular order, but several are long over due in being read (or re-read as the case may be.)

This is my 11th Bout-of-Books and I’ve learned a lot. Up until Bout-of-Books 7.0 I had always given everyone a specific number of books that I planned to read. Since then I’ve just kind of gone with the flow, and so far that approach has worked out much better. So, once again I will read as much as I can. Visit as many blogs as I can. Do as many Challenges as I can but most importantly, have as much fun as I can. If I happen to read more books than last time or tear through more pages, that’s great. In the mean time though, I’m not going to sweat it. The only real goal that I am going to stick to is my promise to review books as they’re read. I have to stick to that or I’ll go totally crazy and worry about whether I’ll get the reviews done or not (or more importantly remember what exactly I read.)

So, are you participating in Bout-of-Books 11.0? Do you have goals? If you are and you do, run over to the Bout-of-Books home page and link them up!

12 comments on “Bout-of-Books 11.0 Goals (August 18-24, 2014)

  1. Great to keep things flexible. During my first few BoBs I also tried to name the books and exact number that I was planning on reading. If I didn’t stick to the list I felt kind of disappointed. Now I don’t care! A book is a book is a book!

    Good luck to you in your reading endeavors!

  2. Is the Asylum book the one with the creepy Photos in it? I think I have that on my list too to read! I can’t wait! And WOW! You have TEN books! That is crazy!!! I’m not even sure I’ll get through my small one digit number. ha ha ha! But make sure to have fun, I know I do!

    • I have ten books on my list, but those are only the ones that I plan to choose from. I probably won’t make it through them all. Asylum is a YA vampire book, but it’s easy to get it confused with others. It’s not the only book with that title,

Leave a Reply

