Extreme Measures (Aegis #1) by Elisabeth Naughton

ExtremeMeasuresBeing prepared for any scenario is the trademark of any good CIA operative, and Eve Wolfe is one of the best. But when her latest mission literally explodes in her face, she wakes up labeled a traitor and—even more surprising—in the custody of elite Aegis Security operative and ex-lover Zane Archer. Although she still secretly has feelings for Zane, he’s now demanding the one thing that she can’t give him: the truth.

When he caught her breaking the rules years ago, Zane let Eve walk away without an explanation. Now someone has not only sabotaged Aegis but also turned an American city into a war zone, and all signs point to Eve. Zane needs answers that can come only from Eve’s still-tempting lips, and he finally has the elusive operative right where he wants her—at his mercy.

Elisabeth Naughton has been on my ‘auto TBR’ list since I picked up Marked, the first book in her Eternal Guardians series. Her characters are smart, witty, brave and honest. Some are more than a little broken and whether she is writing PNR or Contemporary, she grabs my attention with action and suspense CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1from page one. Extreme Measures was obviously no exception.

I’m not sure which one of these characters pulled me in more. I’m not saying that they both didn’t drive me nuts at times. They just took turns. 😉 The author split time with the characters’ POV, which I really like. That time wasn’t limited to Eve and Zane. There were a lot of players involved, which definitely kept things interesting.

The action never stopped, the players kept shifting to the point that I almost needed a score card to keep track. The romance was both hot and sweet and intense. There were times that I wanted to shake both of these characters and just as many times that I wanted to hug them. The same goes for the supporting characters. This was pretty much the perfect set up for what promises to be an excellent series. As if I had any doubt. 😉

DragonFlyRating5

3 comments on “Extreme Measures (Aegis #1) by Elisabeth Naughton

  1. I enjoyed EXTREME MEASURES, though Eve did drive me crazy at times. I loved Zane! Their names escape me at the moment, but I can’t wait for the next story in this series.
    –Lisa Annesley
    Paranormal Romance with Lisa Annesley

      • No worries. Sorry it took me so long. Instead of deleting I just edited… and BTW – I totally agree. Elisabeth Naughton left a spoiler on FB this week that pretty much did the same thing, but I loved those two together. The next book should be great. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

