Kinked (Elder Races #6) by Thea Harrison

KinkedTwo opponents must confront the cause of their obsessive fury in the latest Novel of the Elder Races…

As a harpy, Sentinel Aryal is accustomed to dealing with hate, but Sentinel Quentin Caeravorn manages to inspire in her a burning ire unlike anything she’s ever known. Aryal believes the new Sentinel to be a criminal, and vows to take him out as soon as the opportunity arises. But the harpy’s incessant wrath has pushed Quentin to the limit, and forces him to make a deadly vow of his own.

To put an end to the conflict, Dragos, Lord of the Wyr, sends them on a reconnaissance mission to the Elven land of Numenlaur. Forced to work together, Aryal and Quentin’s mutual antagonism escalates. Each fight draws forth more passion—culminating in an explosively sexual confrontation. But when their quest reveals real danger, Aryal and Quentin must resolve their differences in ways beyond the physical, before the entire Wyr is threatened.

This book grew on me the longer I read it. I have to be honest though, Aryal and Quentin were not my favorite couple. Their story needed to be told though and I’m guessing, that given their actions, they were pretty well suited toward each other. After all, who else would put up with them?

Honestly, these two were like the ‘brats’ of the Sentinels. Basically what Dragos did was give them a ‘time-out’ – which was deserved. I don’t think that there was a Sentinel around that didn’t agree. I think Dragos’ reaction to their behavior and the ‘straw that broke the camel’s’ back was one of my favorite parts of this story.

Readers knew that their connection was inevitable. The only people that didn’t know it were Quentin and Aryal. As the old adage goes, it’s not always the destination but the journey, and that’s exactly what Kinked was. These two characters had to get away from everything and everyone that they knew to discover each other. Because they were away from the rest of the Sentinels, there wasn’t much interaction with the rest of the characters. That’s okay though because they made up for it in the end.

There were crazy moments, sweet moments, sad moments and moments of revelation. Some of them I thought would be a little more dramatic than they turned out to be, but I’m not complaining.

Night’s Honor is up next, but there are two novellas on my TBR list that will hold me over until the new book’s release. Pia Saves the Day and Peanut Goes to School are two little gems that I can’t wait to pick up. 😉

DragonFlyGreen4-5

2 comments on “Kinked (Elder Races #6) by Thea Harrison

  1. They weren’t my favourite couple either, and although I did like this one I think it was my least favourite in the series. Glad you finally got to read it though! 🙂

    • Thanks Kelsey. I did like this one… but Aryal and Quentin are no where near my favorite couple. I loved Dragos and Pia in this one though. Can’t wait to finally pick up those two novellas. 😉

Leave a Reply

