Hotter than Helltown (Preternatural Affairs #3) by S.M. Reine

HotterThanHellTownA killer is mutilating bodies in Los Angeles. Agent Cèsar Hawke is on the case, but the murderer is ahead of him–way ahead of him.

Wiping the memories of the dead so that the team’s necrocognitive can’t talk to them? Done. Preventing magical reconstruction of the crime scenes? Oh yeah. And the murders keep getting more brutal while Cèsar struggles to catch up.

The best way to heat up a cold case is to go to Helltown, where Los Angeles’s most powerful evil hides out, but even those demons are afraid of the murderer. Their fear adds one more question to the growing pile of unknowns:

What kind of bad guy is too hot for Helltown?

I honestly can’t explain it. I love everything about this world that S.M. Reine has created. I fell in love with her unique take on werewolves in Seasons of the Moon. I love the rough edge to the characters in the Descent series. The Ascension series knit the characters of both these series together brilliantly. The Preternatural Affairs series is yet another layer (or pre-layer really) of CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1the same world. As much as I love Rylie, Seth, Abel, Elise, James and everyone else in this crazy, mixed-up world, if I had to choose right now, Cèsar would be my hands down favorite.

Hotter Than Helltown finds Cèsar stressing over more than just the magical crimes that he has to investigate. He also has an impossible test to pass that he is totally not ready for. The case that he’s on becomes as much of a diversion as it is a challenge.

I think what I liked most about Hotter Than Helltown was the fact that readers got to know characters a lot better. At least it felt that way to me. For some reason, in the previous books I didn’t really feel connected to Fritz. I didn’t dislike him, I just didn’t know how to feel about him I guess. His interactions with Cèsar in Hotter Than Helltown changed that for me I think. There’s a lot of things about being inside Cèsar’s head that change my perspective.

Some of the other things that I’ve liked about this series so far are the vague references to characters that we already know from the previous series. One character in particular was mentioned in passing and if I wasn’t paying attention I might have missed it. It kinda made me chuckle.

Basically, these books keep you on your toes – in more ways than one. The characters are smart, witty and the interactions between them are more of the same. There’s action, danger, mystery and the world building never ceases to amaze me. There’s definitely more in store for these characters and I have a feeling that there will be even more cross overs, which is fine by me. I can’t wait to see what layers are added next.

DragonFlyRating5

2 comments on “Hotter than Helltown (Preternatural Affairs #3) by S.M. Reine

  1. I think you mean Fritz not Felix. 🙂
    But yeah, Cèsar and him had some nice bonding moments that defined both of them more.

    • Gah! You’re right and I fixed it. 😉 That’s what happens when you write a review without enough caffeine in your system. I like him a little bit more in each book. As for Cèsar? I love being inside his head. It’s not that these books are any less intense or dangerous than the other series. Cèsar just seems to have a much more comical approach to himself. Rylie and Elise are both such dark characters. It’s refreshing to have a character that is just a little bit lighter in this world.

Leave a Reply

