Blood Moon Harvest (Seasons of the Moon: The Cain Chronicles #2) by S.M. Reine

BloodMoonHarvestRylie’s home has been turned into a battle zone by attacking hunters – and by her conflicted heart. Her wolf and human sides are in love with different men, and neither Seth nor Abel will give Rylie up without a fight.
To save her pack, Rylie will have to find out who Cain is. To save herself, she’ll have to choose between the man she wants and the man she needs.

61 pages… that’s it, just 61 short sweet pages, but oh what was packed into those pages. Yikes!

I’ve made it no secret that I’ve read this series of books totally out of order. Well, not the individual books within each series, just the order of the grouped series. That’s one of the reasons why these books have ended up on my Seriously Series list for 2014. I not only want to catch up, I NEED to catch up. Although I totally regret not finishing the Seasons of the Moon books before I started the Ascent series, I am thoroughly enjoying my trip back into this world. Well, enjoying isn’t exactly the word I’m looking for. S.M. Reine isn’t exactly kind to her characters. They are pretty much tortured by each other or themselves in some way on every single page. *sigh*

Blood Moon Harvest started about where New Moon Summer left off…. but not exactly. The last few pages of the previous book are given in Seth’s perspective. It threw me for a minute, but it only took me a couple of paragraphs to catch up. From that moment on there was total chaos. Emotional and physical chaos for everyone. It doesn’t take long to discover that Cain is a force to be reckoned with, there’s still a lot that even the werewolves don’t know about themselves and some things just can’t be fought. There are jaw dropping revelations, mysterious characters, unexpected alliances and characters that just won’t stay gone. This is one series that doesn’t let you stop to catch your breath.

There’s a lot more to come and I’m super thankful that I started this series late (regardless of the order) because the cliff hangers in this set of novellas are brutal. Even knowing where things are ultimately headed doesn’t make it any easier. I’m glad I have the first 4 books in a collection so I don’t have to wait to pick up Moon of the Terrible.

DragonFlyRating5SeriouslySeries2014

One comment on “Blood Moon Harvest (Seasons of the Moon: The Cain Chronicles #2) by S.M. Reine

Leave a Reply

