Elusive Memories (The Hunted #1) by Amanda Shofner ~ Release Party & Review

releasepartyphoto

ElusiveMemoriesThe Northern Alliance Betterment Society, better known as the Hunters, has persecuted the Gifted for years. When Sam Benson is taken and her memory stolen, she certainly isn’t their first victim. But she’s determined to use her family’s influence as memory-bringer elders to make sure she’s one of the last.
As soon as she escapes the Hunters’ compound, anyway.

Two Hunter guards claim to be working to get Sam free, but only one has her best interests at heart—and holds the key to mounting an offense against the Hunters. With her memory fractured and the Hunters set against her, can she choose the right person to trust?

The paperback release party for Elusive Memories gave me just the incentive I needed to finally get to this book. Now I could kick myself for waiting so long. *sigh*

The world created in Elusive Memories was harsh, but outside the walls of The Northern Alliance Betterment Society it was a lot like our own. That kind of made it even more frightening. Bad things happen when powerful people gain followers using fear and prejudice as fuel for their cause. So what happens when even the people being persecuted or ‘hunted’ are split into two groups that don’t trust each other? The basis for an amazing story full of twists, turns and crazy revelations.

Elusive Memories drew me into the story from the beginning – all because of Sam. Her situation would have made the average person curl up in a ball and give up. No memories, no contact with anyone other than a couple of fellow prisoners, no food, but she still held on to a fragment of hope. Her courage and determination was admirable. She was the perfect heroine. She’s also Gifted in a very special way – and she isn’t the only one, but in the interest keeping my review spoiler free I’ll let you discover those little ‘memories’ right along with Sam… 😉

As for the supporting characters? I can’t really say much and it’s all the author’s fault. Honestly, I was as confused about who could and couldn’t be trusted as Sam was. Elusive Memories not only kept me turning the pages, it had me turning them back. Not because I was confused by what I had just read. It was more because I couldn’t believe what I had just read. Amanda Shofner didn’t cut her characters any slack and she didn’t pull any punches. There wasn’t a time that I thought that Sam was completely safe. It wasn’t that kind of world and Sam wasn’t that kind of character. It’s one of the things I liked most about her.

Elusive Memories didn’t exactly end in a cliff hanger, but the story is far from over. As a matter of fact, I picked up the novella, The Unexpected Gift – which continues Sam’s story – as soon as I finished Elusive Memories. Hopefully there won’t be a long time span before the next full story is released. Otherwise this particular author may reach ‘Evil Author’ status sooner rather than later. 😉

DragonFlyRating5

7 comments on “Elusive Memories (The Hunted #1) by Amanda Shofner ~ Release Party & Review

  1. Pingback: Elusive Memories Release Party! | On a Book Bender

  2. This is a hard book to review just because you don’t want to give anything away. All of the revelations are so integral into enjoying the book. You did an awesome job reviewing it though!! (you really should be a writer!) I LOVED this book!! smiles…

    • I loved it too! (Obviously) It was an extremely hard one to write. I think I started and re-started several times. And thank you! Coming from you, that was a wonderful compliment. 😉 *hugs*

  3. I’m right there with you! I’m so glad I offered to participate in the release party because who knows how long I would have let this book languish on my Kindle.

    I really liked this books and am eagerly awaiting book 2. I haven’t read the novella yet so maybe I’ll hold out to have something to read between Elusive Memories and the second book. 🙂

    • Yep, sometimes you just need that little extra push. I bought it right after it was released. 😉 I haven’t read the novella yet either, but it’s ready and waiting too.

  4. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Me! | On a Book Bender

  5. Pingback: A Veiled Truth (The Hunted #2.5) by Amanda Shofner – Bout of Books 14 Review | creativedeeds

Leave a Reply

