Called to Mate (Pack Mates #1) by Lynn Tyler

DCalledToMateeclan’s chance to be the alpha of his pack has finally come, but in order to take over he needs to find a mate. Finding the gorgeous and fragile Quinn living in his parents’ home, his body heats for no other.
Quinn is a submissive male wolf who has spent most of his life abused by his former alpha. But being mated to his new pack’s alpha provides him with a level of safety he’s never known before, and a whole new world of passion and lust.

Just as their love begins to blossom, a wolf from Quinn’s past threatens the happiness he’s found in Declan’s arms.

I’m still not exactly sure how I feel about Called to Mate. I think that my biggest issue with it is that everything just happened way too fast. I suppose we’ll chalk this one up to the dreaded ‘Novella Curse.’ I’ve fallen victim to it before, but I keep picking them up. It’s just that sometimes novellas work and sometimes they don’t. *sigh*

Even so, Called to Mate still had a great premise and the characters were good too. I liked Declan’s parents and his pack mates (most of them anyway.) I also liked Quinn. I just really wish that there was more time spent not only getting to know them but building up to the action. I’m definitely not abandoning the series or any other books by Lynn Tyler. I look forward to checking out both the author’s other books and the rest of the books in the series, especially since the next two are both longer.

DragonFlyRating3

 

Leave a Reply

