Rumpel’s Prize (Kingdom #8) by Marie Hall

RumplesPrizeImp, deceiver, villainous mastermind… Rumpelstiltskin’s been called all these names and more, and for the most part, they’re entirely true. But there is more to the brooding, blond haired Adonis than brokering deals for the devil. He’s hiding a terrible, hideous secret. One that threatens to fray the already delicate strands of his sanity and reason. A secret that he’s desperate to make right, to see whole again, and there is no one and nothing that will stand in his way of getting what he wants—no one except a slip of woman with hair like fire and skin like finest porcelain. Something about Shayera Caron calls to the beast inside him and makes him question his motives for the first time in his life.

Shayera Caron is the daughter of the infamous Gerard Caron, former lothario of Kingdom but now a reformed rake and settled husband and father. She can go nowhere in her tiny hamlet without seeing the sneers of women and hearing the murmurings of their disdain for the blood that runs through her veins. Shayera is desperate to get away from the gossiping hens, so when Rumpelstiltskin rides into town, she doesn’t think twice before going wherever he leads. Only thing is Shayera is not as innocent as she might seem, for she hides a secret too. One that will bring the most feared man in all of Kingdom to his knees…

Well, I certainly have a lot of catching up to do. I’ve only read the first book in Marie Hall’s Kingdom series and here I am reviewing the 8th book in the series. *shakes head* The good news is that even with my lapse, I wasn’t totally lost. The even better news is I now have even more reason to pick up where I left off.

Who knew as an adult I’d fall in love with Rumplestiltskin? The Rumplestiltskin that we were introduced to as  children is nothing like Marie Hall’s version. I haven’t read a lot of Fairy Tale based books, but this author seems to be a master at writing grown up versions of these familiar tales. I love her twists and takes on the stories we grew up with.

Shayera and Rumple are fun… when they aren’t totally miserable. They are both broken and cursed and as attracted as they are to each other they know that they can’t be together. They both are holding too many secrets that have the potential to harm each other. Even though the outcome is inevitable, the twists, turns and secrets revealed didn’t make this story predictable at all.

Now that I’ve read Rumple’s Prize I’m not sure what I want to read more. Book 9 kind of continues the story started in Rumple’s Prize (in a round about way) but Book 2, Gerard’s Beauty introduces Shayera’s parents. Or I could just start completely over and do another re-read of Her Mad Hatter… decisions, decisions…. 😉

AlphasAfterDarkYou can chalk this one up as another hit in the Alphas After Dark Anthology. I still haven’t picked up one that I haven’t been impressed with and so far I’ve read at least one book by all of the authors. That’s pretty good odds considering that I only picked it up for one book out of the 9 that are included in the collection.

DragonFlyRating4

4 comments on “Rumpel’s Prize (Kingdom #8) by Marie Hall

    • Oh, I think you would like this series. Marie Hall does a great job with her adult version of familiar Fairy Tales. I can’t wait to go back and pick up the ones I missed in between Her Mad Hatter and Rumple’s Prize.

      This is one of the best boxed sets that I’ve picked up. I’m only about half way through but so far I honestly haven’t read one that I didn’t like. I’ve been familiar with all the authors so far too. Most of them are coming out individually, but at 99¢ for all of them right now, you can’t go wrong. 😉

  1. You’re gonna make me buy this boxed set, aren’t you? All your reviews from it have been great! smiles…

    • Actually Christi, buying the boxed set makes perfect sense. Most of the authors are offering the books individually now, but the set only costs 99¢. What have you got to lose? I honestly haven’t ever picked up a boxed set that I’ve enjoyed as much as this one. That may change once I get into the books by authors I’m not familiar with, but so far it’s been great. 😉

Leave a Reply

