Club Shadowlands (Masters of the Shadowlands #1) by Cherise Sinclair

ClubShadowlandsHer car disabled during a tropical storm, Jessica Randall discovers the isolated house where she’s sheltering is a private bondage club. At first shocked, she soon becomes aroused watching the interactions between the Doms and their subs. But she’s a professional woman–an accountant–and surely isn’t a submissive…is she?

Master Z hasn’t been so attracted to a woman in years. But the little sub who has wandered into his club intrigues him. She’s intelligent. Reserved. Conservative. After he discovers her interest in BDSM, he can’t resist tying her up and unleashing the passion she hides within.

Well, that was totally not what I expected. Even though my taste in books is eclectic, there are some books that I read that have scenarios that I’m not exactly comfortable with. BDSM is one of them. Whether I end up liking them or not totally depends on the way things are handled, which makes sense. I can honestly say that out of all the BDSM books that I’ve read, Club Shadowlands is probably my favorite.

I liked Jessica. She was shy, unsure of herself, confused by her curiosity and not totally comfortable in her own skin. She was a character that I could relate to in a lot of ways. Yet, as shy as she was she didn’t cower…. much. I think one of the things I liked most about her was her determination to stand up for others. Granted, her timing was off more than once, but it was still an admirable trait.

Master Z noticed it too and even though he couldn’t condone it, he still admired it. (Confusing I know, but in the context of the story it makes perfect sense… you’ll have to trust me on that one.) As Doms go, Master Z was perfect. He was fair, protective and kept things safe for everyone. He was also loving and caring, but his feelings and attraction for Jessica caught him totally off guard.

I didn’t expect it, but Masters of the Shadowlands has now landed on my TBR list. There were a couple of characters introduced that I really want to get to know better. Cherise Sinclair has definitely gained a new fan. 😉

DragonFlyRating4

3 comments on “Club Shadowlands (Masters of the Shadowlands #1) by Cherise Sinclair

  1. Oh yay!! Glad to see that Cherise has gained a new fan!! 🙂 I am an avid reader of BDSM and she really is (in my opinion) the best out there when it comes to portraying BDSM in the more real and correct way. Maya Banks’ Sweet Series and the first 4 of Kallypso Masters’ Master’s in Arms series are both almost as good as Shadowlands, more on the glitter/sugar kink side with a few of the later ones getting a little darker. Shadowlands is still a personal favorite,especially Lean on Me. 🙂

    • I really did like it… a lot more than I expected. I will definitely be checking out the rest of the books in this series and others by Cherise. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

