Bout-of-Books 10.0 Goals (May 12-18, 2014)

BoutOfBooks-880x400-03

It’s that time again! The fact that I love this week of reading mayhem is never going to change. Sure I don’t get much sleep and I put myself into a reading/review frenzy, which ironically isn’t a lot different than the norm. The difference is that I’m doing it with a whole bunch of great bloggers and readers that are doing the same thing. Plus, there’s no competition, no pressure and a whole lot of silliness and shenanigans thrown into the mix. I get to visit blogs, meet new bloggers and even find new reads to add to my TBR list. What could be more fun?

Just in case you’re new to Bout-of-Books, here’s the official Blurb direct from Kelly and Amanda:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 12th and runs through Sunday, May 18th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 10 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

Now for the fun part! I get to list my goals 😉 Last time I devoted the week almost entirely to Indie books. That was a fun twist so this time I decided to do the same kind of thing. My Bout-of-Books 10 reads will be made up of books I’m pulling off my Seriously Series list. Here’s what I plan to read during Bout-of-Books 10.0:

  1. Asylum (Causal Enchantment #2) by KA Tucker (252 Pages)
  2. Gray Moon Rising (Seasons of the Moon #4) by SM Reine (209 Pages)
  3. New Moon Summer (Seasons of the Moon: Cain Chronicles, #1) by S.M. Reine (53 Pages)
  4. The Darkest Gate (Descent #2) by SM Reine (322 Pages)
  5. With All My Soul (Soul Screamers #7) by Rachel Vincent (377 Pages)
  6. Bite Club (Morganville Vampires #10) by Rachel Caine (340 Pages)
  7. Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night (Immortals After Dark #4) by Kresley Cole (359 Pages)
  8. Tommy Nightmare (Paranormals #2) by JL Bryan (284 Pages)
  9. When You Dare (Men Who Walk the Edge of Honor #1) by Lori Foster (448 Pages)
  10. Enslaved (Eternal Guardians #5) by Elisabeth Naughton (374 Pages)

As usual, that’s a lot of books and also as usual, I don’t plan on reading them all. The books aren’t in any particular order, but several are long over due in being read. I might squeeze a couple of novellas in there too and they will be added to the list if I get to them. If I add them they will be part of a series that I am currently reading.

This is my 10th Bout-of-Books and I’ve learned a lot. Up until Bout-of-Books 7.0 I had always given everyone a specific number of books that I planned to read. Since then I’ve just kind of gone with the flow, and so far that approach has worked out much better. So, once again I will read as much as I can. Visit as many blogs as I can. Do as many Challenges as I can but most importantly, have as much fun as I can. If I happen to read more books than last time or tear through more pages, that’s great. In the mean time though, I’m not going to sweat it. The only real goal that I am going to stick to is my promise to review books as they’re read. I have to stick to that or I’ll go totally crazy and worry about whether I’ll get the reviews done or not (or more importantly remember what exactly I read.)

So, are you participating in Bout-of-Books 10.0? Do you have goals? If you are and you do, run over to the Bout-of-Books home page and link them up!

10 comments on “Bout-of-Books 10.0 Goals (May 12-18, 2014)

    • Why yes, I do 😉 I also have two part time jobs that will be running full force next week. *sigh* Looks like I also have a ‘no-sleep’ future ahead of me. I can’t wait!

  1. You have a nice looking list for books. You’re almost done the Soul Screamers series too yay!
    Good luck, and just do the best you can 🙂

    • Why thank you 😉 I am so close to getting through the Soul Screamers series that I might just read that one first. Of course if I read With All My Soul first that also means that I will immediately be adding the novels that are in Volume 4 to my list as well. I’m really loving the series, but the closer I get to the end the more nervous I get. *sigh*

  2. Wow! Nine books in one week. Best of luck. This is my first time participating and I work full time so I’m starting with only three. 🙂
    Laura

  3. “…which ironically isn’t a lot different than the norm. The difference is that I’m doing it with a whole bunch of great bloggers and readers that are doing the same thing.”

    Exactly! I think your low-key approach is the way to go… just go with the flow and have fun along the way. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

