It’s Complicated (Tucker Springs #7) by L.A. Witt

ItsComplicated_TourBanner-1

20816383After their umpteenth breakup, Brad Sweeney and Jeff Hayden are living apart and starting over from scratch. The morning after a promising first date, they’re more optimistic than ever that they can make it work this time . . . until Jeff’s ex-wife and business partner calls to announce she’s pregnant with Jeff’s baby. Brad’s already competing with a demanding business for Jeff’s time. Now there’s a baby on the way, and worse, he’s afraid Jeff is still carrying a torch for the woman who’s carrying his child.

Jeff is desperately trying to keep his life together, but before he can even get his head around the news that he’s going to be a father, his ex announces that she wants to leave Tucker Springs. Now he either has to take over her role at the shop while ferrying the baby back and forth from Denver, or move the business—and himself—with her.

Brad and Jeff knew reconciliation wouldn’t be easy, but they’re rapidly running out of room for compromise. And sooner or later, something has to give.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1I hate to say it, but It’s Complicated ended up being my least favorite book in the Tucker Springs series so far. That doesn’t mean that I didn’t like it, because I did. It’s basically because it’s the first time that I didn’t immediately connect with both characters. There was even a point in the book where I honestly thought that Brad and Jeff may really be better off just throwing in the towel where their relationship was concerned. That’s not usually where I expect myself to be in the middle of a romance novel. *sigh*

The character that I connected with was Brad. He was vaguely introduced in After the Fall as Nathan’s roommate. Readers didn’t really get to know him well in Nathan and Ryan’s book, but it was enough to make him familiar at least by name. Besides the familiarity, I also sympathized with him. I felt like his issues with Jeff and his ex were totally warranted. I wanted them to work things out and I understood that things were… well… complicated, but where I can normally see and sympathize with both sides, in this situation I had a hard time seeing Jeff’s side of things.

Regardless of how I felt about the relationship between Brad and Jeff, I’m glad they worked things out. And for those of you who are worried about drama and angst, the description makes it sound a little worse than it actually was. There were no tricks, sneaky maneuvers or cheating involved. Just some adults using some pretty poor judgement, which was bad enough. It got a little corny and though I had my doubts I ended up even liking Jeff a little by the end. That leaves Tucker Springs a place that I’d still like to visit in future books. If more are planned, I’d really like to catch up with a couple more of the characters that readers already know. Seeing Nathan, Ryan, Seth and Darren was nice in It’s Complicated, but I’m kind of missing everyone else. Maybe a re-read is in order 😉

DragonFlyRating4

SeriouslySeries2014

Leave a Reply

