The King (Black Dagger Brotherhood #12) by J.R. Ward

TheKingGRJ.R. Ward’s # 1 New York Times bestselling Black Dagger Brotherhood continues as a royal bloodline is compromised by a grave threat to the throne.

Long live the King… 

After turning his back on the throne for centuries, Wrath, son of Wrath, finally assumed his father’s mantle–with the help of his beloved mate. But the crown sets heavily on his head. As the war with the Lessening Society rages on, and the threat from the Band of Bastards truly hits home, he is forced to make choices that put everything–and everyone–at risk.

Beth Randall thought she knew what she was getting into when she mated the last pure blooded vampire on the planet: An easy ride was not it. But when she decides she wants a child, she’s unprepared for Wrath’s response–or the distance it creates between them.

The question is, will true love win out… or tortured legacy take over?

Skimming the reviews of The King brought me to a realization. The Black Dagger Brotherhood fans out there seem to be falling into one or two categories. There are those that are still die hard fans and there are just as many that are becoming less infatuated with it. So, where do I fall? Some where in between I suppose.

I was hooked from the first book – therefore Beth and Wrath will always be my first love and I will probably always be drawn to read anything, regardless of how short or long, that centers around this couple. I don’t think I’m alone there. I’m pretty sure (among other things of course) that most readers who didn’t like The King as much as they wanted to were upset about the ‘face time’ that Beth and Wrath (and the Brotherhood in general) had in The King. I agree with them. I expected a lot more time with the King and his Queen and it did disappoint me a little. A lot happened in this book and a lot that happened was laying groundwork for future books. I suppose time will tell if the groundwork will be worth it.

Even though I missed spending time with the brotherhood and their mates, I still enjoyed the book for what it was. I didn’t mind the side story of Assail and Sola, even though Assail isn’t really one of the ‘good’ guys. I’ve liked iAm and Trez since readers really got to know them in Lover Avenged. The story line between Trez and Selena was good and iAm spent a fair amount of quality time with Beth which helped readers get to see a totally new side of him. Xcor and Layla’s story was touched on too, and it’s going to be interesting to see where that one leads along with the rest of the Band of Bastards. So, yeah, a lot went on in this book. I didn’t even touch on some of the new characters that were introduced, drama concerning Saxton or the back story involving Wrath’s parents. I can totally understand where some people felt like it was a lot of filler surrounding the main story.

Even though I miss the format of the earlier books where Wrath and his ‘family’ are the main focus, I still liked The King. The parts of the book that were centered around Beth, Wrath and the rest of the Brotherhood were definitely my favorites (especially chapters 50-51) but honestly, there wasn’t a part that I hated. I’ll continue to read and reread them and look forward to the next book in the series – which will be iAm and Trez’s book – The Shadows.

DragonFlyGreen4-5

By creativedeeds

3 comments on “The King (Black Dagger Brotherhood #12) by J.R. Ward

  1. Think you summised how some fans feel. Although I did love the new book. I still felt I wasn’t getting the full focus on the story I really wanted. Well put.

  2. Good review. I agree in that I missed spending time with the Brotherhood. I would have liked to follow up with Qhuay. But Ward has so many characters now that she couldn’t possibly spend quality time with each and every one in every book. Sad but true.

    That said, I enjoyed all the “side” stories. I’m especially anxious to see what happens with Assail and Sola because I don’t think that Ward is finished with them yet. Who knows? Maybe Assail will be redeemed.

    Anyway, I enjoyed the book even though Ward seems to be taking the series in a different direction.

    Thanks for the review.

Leave a Reply

