Days of Blood & Starlight (Daughter of Smoke & Bone #2) by Laini Taylor

DaysofBloodAndStarlightOnce upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love and dared to imagine a world free of bloodshed and war.

This is not that world.

Art student and monster’s apprentice Karou finally has the answers she has always sought. She knows who she is—and what she is. But with this knowledge comes another truth she would give anything to undo: She loved the enemy and he betrayed her, and a world suffered for it.

In this stunning sequel to the highly acclaimed Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Karou must decide how far she’ll go to avenge her people. Filled with heartbreak and beauty, secrets and impossible choices, Days of Blood & Starlight finds Karou and Akiva on opposing sides as an age-old war stirs back to life.

While Karou and her allies build a monstrous army in a land of dust and starlight, Akiva wages a different sort of battle: a battle for redemption. For hope.

But can any hope be salvaged from the ashes of their broken dream?

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1Not only did I listen to the first book in this series, Daughter of Smoke & Bone, but it was my very first audio book experience. If I had any doubt that listening to the narration is what made Laini Taylor’s writing so lyrical and poetic, they were erased by the time I finished the first chapter of Days of Blood & Starlight. Granted, it took me a little while to read. There was a lot of ground covered in the 517 pages, but none of those pages was wasted. This book was just as intense and heartbreaking as the first… maybe more so because we already knew the characters.

Days of Blood & Starlight threw readers right into the middle of the hidden world of monsters and angels. It was a world of violence and little hope. It wasn’t all bad though, which is the only thing that kept me reading… that little spark of hope that stayed just outside of both Karou and Akiva’s reach.

The world building in the Daughter of Smoke & Bone series is amazing and Laini Taylor’s writing brings that world and the monsters that inhabit it to life. There’s really no other way to put it. I think I loved this one even more than the first and now I can’t wait to read Dreams of Gods and Monsters. The events that led up to the end of Days of Blood & Starlight were crushing. Decisions were made that changed things for everyone and sacrifices were made that I never saw coming. I’m kind of glad that I waited to read this one, because I want a HEA now… not just for Karou and Akiva but for all of their friends and family. Somehow I don’t think it’s going to be that easy….

DragonFlyRating5

2 comments on “Days of Blood & Starlight (Daughter of Smoke & Bone #2) by Laini Taylor

  1. I need to read this one soon, and of course a re-read of the first book. I keep seeing people loving this one and I know I have to get to it soon! I’m glad you loved it 🙂

Leave a Reply

