Silver Bullet (Preternatural Affairs #2) by S.M. Reine

SilverBulletFormer private investigator Cèsar Hawke has one rule: He doesn’t deal with dead bodies. That’s why he enlisted with the Magical Violations Department in the Office of Preternatural Affairs. He’s happy tracking down witches that commit petty crimes, but he leaves the homicides to other agents.

Except that he’s been assigned to a new team–a team that handles special investigations–and the job has suddenly changed. Now Cèsar has to deal with dead bodies. He also has to deal with necromancers, murderous cults, and demons that can stop a man’s heart with fear.

This isn’t the job he signed up for, but it’s the job he needs to do.

If he survives the first week.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1I have to be honest, I have been all over the place lately with S.M. Reine’s books. The thing is, it doesn’t seem to matter whether she’s writing about demons, angels, werewolves, witches or ANYTHING – I love it all. Evidently it also doesn’t matter what order I read it in. The great thing about picking up her Preternatural Affairs series is that everything that happens in this series takes place BEFORE the rest of the series. Even though it’s adding a whole new dimension for readers who have already read the previous books. So, you can start here and be just fine. The only thing that I don’t recommend is picking up the Ascension series before finishing ALL of the Seasons of the Moon (Including the Cain Chronicles) and the Descent series – like I did. Yes readers, this is another ‘do as I say, not as I do’ moment. I just couldn’t wait! Okay, now that I’ve gotten that out of my system…

Silver Bullet pretty much takes up where Witch Hunt left off. Fritz has gathered his secret crew and puts them to work almost immediately. Suzy, César and Isobel have no choice but to learn as they go. Not the best case scenario, but what better way than to learn by doing? The description for this book pretty much sums it up – it definitely wasn’t what César signed up for, but it needed to be done. Self preservation and protecting those around him are firmly engrained in his personality. He spent most of this story fighting to ensure both.

Readers learned a lot about the characters in Silver Bullet and César learned a lot about the world of demons… some of which he would have much rather have been left in the dark about. I can’t say that I blame him. He was, almost literally, thrown to the wolves (and spiders and nightmares) in Silver BulletOn a side note… I have discovered, without a doubt that the one demon that I would never, ever want to run into, much less tackle is a Nightmare.  

I mentioned in Witch Hunt that César’s ‘voice’ is a lot different than either Riley or Elise’s (the main characters in Seasons of the Moon and Descent.) There’s a hint of humor in César’s personality that I really enjoy. One of my favorite scenes in Silver Bullet happens between Isobel and César…

I started running powdered herbs through my fingers, feeling their energies, sensing the potency. Not bad. It was all fresh. ‘So do you want to know the trick to brewing a perfect potion?’ I asked, portioning out the sage.
‘Nope,’ Isobel said. ‘I only asked for lessons so that I would have an excuse to stand next to your sexy body.’
‘Uh,’ I said. Eloquent as always.
‘I’m joking. How do I brew a perfect potion?’
‘Listen to the herbs.’
She burst out laughing.
‘I’m serious. For once. Hold this and tell me what it says to you.’ I dropped the rest of the bag of sage in her hand.
Isobel straightened her face. ‘Okay, I’m listening to the herbs. They say…’ She closed her eyes, shut her fist around the bag. I kept holding on to her. ‘They say that the Cubbies are never going to win the pennant.’
‘Ain’t that the truth?’ I muttered. Of course the Giants weren’t doing much better this season. We couldn’t talk.
Her eyes popped open. ‘I’m not getting anything. I’m sorry.’
‘Maybe it’ll come to you.’ I said. ‘Follow my lead.’

I honestly can’t imagine this conversation taking place in any of the previous books. I think that’s one of the reasons why I love César so much. Some serious stuff happens in this book. There are some definite ‘life or death’ moments, but through it all, he still doesn’t take himself too seriously.

There were also some definite turning points in Silver Bullet. More characters are introduced and things change dramatically for the characters we already know. There are just as many mysteries and secrets revealed as are left by the end of the book. All I can say is that it’s a good thing that S.M. Reine writes so fast.

So, basically all you need to know is that if you haven’t picked up a book written by S.M. Reine, you need to now. I’m going to leave you with one more reason, if you aren’t already convinced. If you’re a fan, you’ll totally understand. 😉

I shouldn’t have been in this mine. I should have been wasting sticky note pads by animating stick figure ninjas. I should have been sneaking mild laxative potions into Suzy’s coffee. I should have been calling in sick so that I could stay home and read the newest Iron Druid release. I should have been – well, just about any-fucking-where but here.

DragonFlyRating5

4 comments on “Silver Bullet (Preternatural Affairs #2) by S.M. Reine

    • I think some of the sets are still FREE. Last I checked you could get the whole ‘Seasons of the Moon,’ most of ‘SOM- Cain’s Chronicles’ and the first 3 books in the ‘Descent’ series. You don’t have to read them all to start this series but I definitely recommend reading them all eventually. 😉

    • I know the feeling Amy. I still have a load of books in her back series to read. I’ve read the 1st 3 in the ‘Seasons of the Moon’ and only the 1st full length book in the ‘Descent’ series. I have some serious catching up to do 😉

Leave a Reply

