Legally Wed by Rick R. Reed

LegallyWedLove comes along when you least expect it. That’s what Duncan Taylor’s sister, Scout, tells him. Scout has everything Duncan wants—a happy life with a wonderful husband. Now that Seattle has made gay marriage legal, Duncan knows he can have the same thing. But when he proposes to his boyfriend Tucker, he doesn’t get the answer he hoped for. Tucker’s refusal is another misstep in a long line of failed romances. Despairing, Duncan thinks of all the loving unions in his life—and how every one of them is straight. Maybe he could be happy, if not sexually compatible, with a woman. When zany, gay-man-loving Marilyn Samples waltzes into his life, he thinks he may have found his answer.

Determined to settle, Duncan forgets his sister’s wisdom about love and begins planning a wedding with Marilyn. But life throws Duncan a curveball. When he meets wedding planner Peter Dalrymple, unexpected sparks ignite. Neither man knows how long he can resist his powerful attraction to the other. For sure, there’s a wedding in the future. But whose?

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1Oh Duncan…. where do I even begin? I guess I should start by saying that I really did like this book. Yet, parts of it scared me to death. No, you didn’t mis-read the tags – this isn’t a horror story. It’s just that this romance was set up to fail from the start. I reached one point and I almost threw in the towel. I’m so glad that I stuck with it.

Duncan wore his heart on his sleeve. He was a caring guy who just wanted someone to love. He thought he had it but he was wrong. His devastation led him to some creative measures that had disaster written all over them.

Marilyn wasn’t someone that I immediately liked. Even so, my concern and fear weren’t for Duncan, but for her. She was the one that I felt stood the most to lose if things didn’t work out. Crazy, I know. Like I said, I’m so glad I stuck with this story.

And then there was Peter. I loved him from the moment he was introduced. His personality was easy and honest. He was perfect for Duncan, even if the timing was off.

There was so much emotion in this book, it sometimes took me by surprise. The characters were witty and I liked them all by the end…. with the exception of Tucker. I especially loved Duncan’s sister, Scout. The love and devotion between these siblings was front and center and just as important to the plot as the romance – which this book wasn’t heavy on, but that’s okay… it made up for it in oh so many ways.

Legally Wed was a sweet little emotional diversion. Not what I expected, but I kinda like it when that happens  😉

DragonFlyRating4

Leave a Reply

