Best Kind of Broken (Finding Fate #1) by Chelsea Fine

BestKindOfBrokenPixie and Levi haven’t spoken in nearly a year when they find themselves working―and living―at the same inn in the middle of nowhere. Once upon a time, they were childhood friends. But that was before everything went to hell. And now things are… awkward.

All they want to do is avoid each other, and their past, for as long as possible. But now that they’re forced to share a bathroom, and therefore a shower, keeping their distance from one another becomes less difficult than keeping their hands off each other. Welcome to the hallway of awkward tension and sexual frustration, folks. Get comfy. It’s going to be a long summer.

Well, that was totally unexpected. You guys know that my reading taste is eclectic. You also know that my preference leans more toward PNR. I read a variety of books and New Adult and Young Adult contemporary are among the mix. I like reading them from time to time, but rarely do they blow me away. I picked up Best Kind of Broken on a whim. I hadn’t read any books by Chelsea Fine yet and it came up on NetGalley, so I thought, why not? Note to self… I need to make more ‘whim’ based decisions. *sigh*

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1Once I started reading Best Kind of Broken, I couldn’t stop. These characters got under my skin and wouldn’t crawl out. They made me laugh, they made me cry, they made me cringe, they made me feel… EVERYTHING. To be honest, one of the main reasons why I’m just a little leery of YA or NA contemporary is because of the angst. I just can’t get into teen drama. It might have something to do with the fact that I lived through raising 3 daughters through their teens and I’m over it. There was little or none of that in Best Kind of Broken. I’m not saying that Levi and Pixie were level headed and mature. Not by a long shot. The opening scene in the book (which is a common occurrence in the story) proves that point. What these characters are is smart, witty, caring and broken. They need each other desperately, but they’re carrying so much guilt and pain that they don’t see it.

There was so much to love about Best Kind of Broken that I’m afraid I’m going to ramble myself into a corner and give something away. I don’t want to leave any spoilers. Chelsea Fine did an amazing job of keeping the ‘elephant’ in the room between Levi and Pixie just between them. Everyone knew the depth of their pain and what they were dealing with except for the reader. Because there were so many layers to their grief that they hadn’t even discovered yet, instead of being frustrating, it worked.

What makes Best Kind of Broken even better are the supporting characters. They are just as important to the story as Levi and Pixie. If I had to pick a favorite it would be Pixie’s aunt Ellen. She was a force to be reckoned with and I was cheering her on and giving her virtual ‘high fives’ throughout the book. She was sneaky with a touch of sarcasm and wit and she loved these two (and everyone else) unconditionally and I adored her for it. I also loved Darren, Zack, Jenna, Mable, Haley, Angelo and all the rest of the cast of characters. Including the ‘colorful’ guests at the inn. As a matter of fact, there was only one character that I loathed… and trust me, you’ll know her when you meet her.

So yeah, Best Kind of Broken took me by surprise. I laughed, I cried and a yelled at the author. Needless to say the next book in the Finding Fate series, Perfect Kind of Trouble, is already on my TBR list. Darren and Kayla were introduced in Best Kind of Broken and have gotten off to a great start. (Yeah, some of Aunt Ellen’s sarcasm is definitely rubbing off.)

Best Kind of Broken releases on March 4. Just to give you a taste, I’ll leave you guys with one of my favorite Pixie quotes…

She throws her arms out again and yells, “Because love isn’t something that needs to be said out loud!” Her face flushes with passion, “It’s something you just KNOW. It’s an unspoken thing. It’s humble and quiet and constant…” She goes back to slaughtering the mushrooms, but lowers her tone a bit. “I mean, you can’t just SAY you love someone and make it true. That’s not how it works. Real love doesn’t need to be declared or confessed. Real love just… is. You know?”

DragonFlyRating5

2 comments on “Best Kind of Broken (Finding Fate #1) by Chelsea Fine

Leave a Reply

