Death’s Hand (Descent #1) by S.M. Reine

perf5.000x8.000.inddPolicing relations between Heaven, Hell, and Earth is messy and violent, but Elise Kavanagh and James Faulkner excelled at it– until coming across a job so brutal that even they couldn’t stand to see one more dead body.

Now they’ve been pretending to be normal for five years, leaving their horrific history a dark secret. Elise works in an office. James owns a business. None of their friends realize they used to be one of the world’s best killing teams.

After years of hiding, something stirs. Bodies are vanishing. Demons scurry in the shadows of the night. A child has been possessed.

Some enemies aren’t willing to let the secrets of the past stay dead.

Okay, I’m playing catch up in a serious way. You may have noticed that I’ve jumped around on my S.M. Reine reads. I got my hands on her Ascension series and I couldn’t wait to read them…. so I did. Even though I knew that those books (and her new Preternatural Affairs series) are based on characters introduced in both her Descent series and her Seasons of the Moon series – both of which I haven’t finished. It was risky and I’ll never know what my take on these books would have been if I had read them in order, but it’s too late to second guess my decision. I’m now totally committed to reading them all. (Honestly, not a big sacrifice.)

It’s been a little while since I read the first prequel to this series, Death’s Avatar. That’s okay though, I remembered most of it and a good portion of it is covered in flash backs in Death’s Hand. The book goes back and forth between the past and the present but it’s fairly easy to follow, especially since each section is dated.

The characters were great, as usual. I’m not sure if knowing where Elise and James end up made me look at them differently, but I think that even if this would have been my first introduction to them I would have picked up on the fact that they don’t do ‘normal’ well. They seem to have even the people that they are closest to fooled to an extent, at least in the beginning. By the end there is no hiding exactly how powerful and not ‘normal’ either one of them are.

The rest of the characters were as interesting and important to the story as I’ve come to expect from anything that S.M. Reine writes. She holds nothing back, good or bad and it’s that intensity that I’ve grown to not only expect but love in her writing.

DescentSeries1-3There are 7 books in this series and I plan to devour them all. The next book in this series is The Darkest Gate and I’m so glad I have it ready and waiting. I picked up this book along with the 1st three books in a set so I’m covered for a while. Of course I also plan on reading the rest of the Seasons of the Moon series as well. And speaking of reading order? I do love James and Elise, but I’m still glad that I picked up the Seasons of the Moon series first. 😉

DragonFlyRating5

SeriouslySeries2014

By creativedeeds

Leave a Reply

