Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror #1) by Karina Halle

DarkhouseThere’s always been something a bit off about Perry Palomino. Though she’s been dealing with a quarter-life crisis and post-college syndrome like any other twentysomething, she’s still not what you would call “ordinary.” For one thing, there’s her past which she likes to pretend never happened, and then there’s the fact that she sees ghosts. Luckily for her, that all comes in handy when she stumbles across Dex Foray, an eccentric producer for an upcoming webcast on ghost hunters. Even though the show’s budget is non-existent and Dex himself is a maddening enigma, Perry is instantly drawn into a world that both threatens her life and seduces her with a sense of importance. Her uncle’s haunted lighthouse provides the perfect catalyst and backdrop for a horrific mystery that unravels the threads of Perry’s fragile sanity and causes her to fall for a man, who, like the most dangerous of ghosts, may not be all that he seems.

Confession time! I know you guys just love it when I start a review off like that – but there’s usually a good reason. This time it’s because I’m just a teensy bit hardheaded. You see, I get lovingly ‘bullied’ into reading books a lot. For some reason, those books seem to be the ones that I pick up last. I have no reason and definitely no excuse. That just seems to be the way things go. In the case of Darkhouse it’s even worse, I’ve had a couple people recommend it. I even had one of my blogging buddies offer to buy me the entire series if I would just pick this book up and read it. That was a pretty reasonable, no strings attached request considering it was already on my kindle (and has been for over a YEAR.) Not to mention the fact that it was FREE. *hangs head in shame* Now that I’ve gotten that off my chest, I can move on with the review.

Darkhouse wasn’t at all what I expected. From the moment I ‘met’ Perry I was hooked. All good characters have flaws. If they were perfect the average reader wouldn’t be able to relate to them. For me, Perry was much more than relatable, she was real. I loved her. I loved her ‘voice,’ I loved her personality and I loved her spunk. She was lacking in self confidence and she didn’t have a lot of support (even from the people who loved her) but there was just something about her that made me like her. I just knew that once she found her niche things would turn around for her.

Then there was Dex. I’m still not quite sure about how I feel about him, but to be fair, neither was Perry by the end of the book. Coming into the Experiment in Terror series late, I know that there is a lot more to come and to be honest, he kind of grew on me. There’s a lot to be learned about Dex and I’m willing to be things get a whole lot more interesting.

As far as the story goes… yeah, it was just scary enough to keep the pages turning. Karina Halle definitely kept me on the edge of my seat. I’m not sure if I would have gone to the lighthouse the first time much less the times that Perry and Dex returned, but if they hadn’t, there wouldn’t have been a story, so who am I to argue. (I’m also a confirmed chicken and not afraid to admit it. 😉 )

The characters were great, especially Dex and Perry. Out of all of Perry’s family members, Ada and her uncle Al were the ones that I liked the most. Her parents irritated me, for a lot of reasons. You’ll have to read the book to understand why, but if you still don’t know exactly why, feel free to ask. Some of it is because of not wanting to give anything away and a lot of it is because I didn’t like the way Perry was treated. Something tells me that Perry and Dex are going to be good for each other in more ways than one.

So yeah, I definitely enjoyed Darkhouse and could kick myself for waiting so long to finally pick it up. I’m sure I will be getting a lot of ‘I told you so’s’ from my blogging buddies. *sigh* On the plus side there are currently 8 books in the series, so I don’t have to wait to read the next one. Red Fox is the second book in the Experiment in Terror series and it’s already on my TBR list. 😉

DragonFlyRating4

4 comments on “Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror #1) by Karina Halle

  1. I got a free copy of this too and I still have to read it at some point. It does sound really good though and I’m happy you did like it.
    I’m glad more books for it are out too, in case I need it after I read this one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

