My Cowboy Heartache (The Cowboys #2) by Z.A. Maxfield

MyHeartacheCowboyCan love conquer all?

Jimmy Rafferty and Eddie Molina go way back at the J-Bar ranch. They’ve worked together, bunked together, camped out, and drank together. So how has Jimmy failed to notice that Eddie is gay? Eddie has not failed to notice that his friend has a serious drinking problem, and he’s determined to help Jimmy kick the booze cold turkey. 

Taking him up to a snowbound cabin to detox, Eddie is confronted with Jimmy’s fierce denial. But the pains of withdrawal are nothing for Jimmy compared with the heartache of denying his true feelings and his deep longing…for the one man who cares for him more than anyone else on earth.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1This is the second book I’ve read by Z.A. Maxfield. The first was Grime and Punishment, the first book in her Brothers Grime series. I really like her writing style and her characters are great… unfortunately, I didn’t connect with the characters in My Heartache Cowboy quite as much. To be fair, I think I might have enjoyed it more if I would have read the first book in her The Cowboys series, My Cowboy Heart. I’ve already put it on my TBR list for that very reason.

My Heartache Cowboy dealt with some pretty tough issues and for them most part, it handled them well. There were some things that I had a little trouble with though. The hard part about reviewing this book is that I can’t really talk about what bugged me most because I don’t want to give anything away. What I can say is that none of what happened in My Heartache Cowboy would have bothered me at all if it wouldn’t have been for the shaky ground that Jimmy was on. He had a lot to deal with and the circumstances that he was dealt only compounded those issues.

All that being said, I still want to read more about these characters and I definitely want to pick up the first book in the series. The characters were interesting and they had depth, the dialogue flowed,  each character had a distinct voice and I honestly loved Jimmy and Eddie together. This is definitely a book that I will revisit once I read the first book, so stay tuned. 😉

DragonFlyGreen3-5

2 comments on “My Cowboy Heartache (The Cowboys #2) by Z.A. Maxfield

    • Cover duplicates drive me nuts too, but if you use any type of stock art at all it’s gonna happen. At least the cover artists did their own little tweaks to the covers, but I totally understand. (That probably doesn’t surprise you at all.) 😉

Leave a Reply

