Ghost Town (Morganville Vampires #9) by Rachel Caine

GhostTownDespite their obvious differences, the human and vampire residents of While developing a new system to maintain Morganville’s defenses, student Claire Danvers discovers a way to amplify vampire mental powers. Through this, she’s able to re-establish the field around this vampire-infested Texas college town that protects it from outsiders.

But the new upgrades have an unexpected consequence: people inside the town begin to slowly forget who they are-even the vampires. Soon, the town’s little memory problem has turned into a full-on epidemic. Now Claire needs to figure out a way to pull the plug on her experiment- before she forgets how to save Morganville.

I debated about the book description for this review for a while before I finally decided to use the GoodReads description. It wasn’t my favorite, and I almost used the description that is on the back cover of my physical copy, but I felt like that one gave too much away. I guess I figured that this one was the lesser of two evils, but I now have a whole new appreciation for authors who have to come up with a synopsis. It ain’t easy folks! *sigh*

As with all of the Morganville Vampire books, Ghost Town did not disappoint. I’m not sure what it is about these books that pulls me in. It’s probably a combination of all of it. I love Claire’s ‘voice.’ Her POV just works for this series. The supporting characters are amazing… even the ones that I’m not very fond of. There is nothing predictable about the story lines – except for the fact that if there is trouble in Morganville, Claire and company are sure to be right in the thick of it. It’s the ‘how’ and the ‘why’ and the ‘how are they ever going to get themselves out of it’ that keeps things interesting. Ghost Town had that in spades.

Ghost Town reinforced the fact that even if you think a vampire is on your side, you can’t let your guard down. Ever. Because of the circumstances in Ghost Town, people that Claire once depended on were no longer there for her. People that she never thought she could trust turned into allies and circumstances changed around every corner. There were some heartbreaking moments in this one and more than a few turning points and a lot of things that I never saw coming. That includes the jaw dropping ending. Yeah, Ghost Town doesn’t end in a cliff hanger, but it does end with a revelation that sets the scenario for things to be extremely interesting in the future. We’ll just leave it at that.

This is one series that I am glad that I was lovingly ‘bullied’ into. Hannah at Once Upon a Time nudged me (more than once) into picking up this series. And since I had a hard time finding a copy of Ghost Town (since I was late picking up the series) I also have to thank Katie at Doing Dewey since I won the book from her challenge during Bout of Books 9.0 😉 Make sure you stop by these lovely lady’s blogs and say Hi! They both have excellent taste in books.

Next up in the Morganville series is Bite Club. Luckily for me, it’s sitting on my bookshelf waiting for me patiently. I’m pretty sure it won’t be a long wait 😉

DragonFlyRating5

SeriouslySeries2014

Leave a Reply

