Heart of Venom (Elemental Assassin #9) by Jennifer Estep

HeartOfVenomWhen a terror from the past threatens Gin’s friend and body-disposer, Sophia, Gin will stop at nothing to protect her, even if it means walking straight into a killer’s trap. Meanwhile, the rocky romance between Gin and Owen reaches a turning point—can they reunite and rekindle their love? Or will the things Gin has been forced to do in her line of work as the deadly assassin the Spider keep them apart forever? Assuming, that is, she survives long enough to find out.

I mentioned this week somewhere that this is one of my favorite UF series. I also laughingly added that Gin Blanco makes me forget that admiring an assassin isn’t necessarily a good thing – or a normal thing for that matter. Whatever… normal is highly overrated right?

There was a lot of history in Heart of Venom. It wasn’t the normal back story history. It was character revelation history. Readers got a glimpse of Sophia that they had never seen before.  I always liked Sophia, even though we never knew her very well. She was the tough, silent, loyal friend. This story showed us what shaped her into the person she was and her past wasn’t pretty. It was even more gruesome and terrifying than readers could have even guessed. It made me like and respect Sophia even more.

There was also a lot of heart break in Heart of Venom. The danger was upped a couple notches and more than once I wasn’t sure exactly who was going to come out on top. Once again though, the thing that keeps me reading this series was front and center. The sense of family and loyalty between these characters and that ‘family’ continues to grow and just get stronger. I honestly don’t think I could pick a favorite out of the whole bunch. I love them all. *sigh*

By the end of Heart of Venom, things are looking up and everyone can breathe a sigh of relief. I’m sure it won’t last though. A few mysteries were stirred up and there may be a new enemy in town. I’m sure the Spider is up for it though. Speaking of which, The Spider is the next book in the Elemental Assassin series and it’s ready and waiting for me to finally read. I can’t wait to see where the Spider got her start and I’m really looking forward to some quality time with Fletcher. 😉

DragonFlyRating5

SeriouslySeries2014

Leave a Reply

