Bout-of-Books 9.0 Goals (January 6-12, 2014)

BoutOfBooks-880x400-03

It’s that time again! I honestly love this week of reading mayhem. Sure I don’t get much sleep and I put myself into a reading/review frenzy, which ironically isn’t a lot different than the norm. The difference is that I’m doing it with a whole bunch of great bloggers and readers that are doing the same thing. Plus, there’s no competition, no pressure and a whole lot of silliness and shenanigans thrown into the mix. I get to visit blogs, meet new bloggers and even find new reads to add to my TBR list. What could be more fun?

Just in case you’re new to Bout-of-Books, here’s the official Blurb direct from Kelly and Amanda:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 6th and runs through Sunday, January 12th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 9.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

Now for the fun part! I get to list my goals 😉 I’m doing something totally different this time. I’m reading only Indie books. Yep, I’ve got so many of them that need to be read and the list is growing all the time. I love my Indie authors and devoting an entire week to them just seemed to be the thing to do. A couple of the authors are new to me, but most are part of series that I’ve started or by authors that I’m already familiar with. Here’s what I plan to read during Bout-of-Books 9.0:

  1. Endure (Protector #4) by MR Merrick (380 Pages)
  2. Burned (Donovan Circus #2) by Liz Long (303 Pages)
  3. The Third Kiss (Dorian’s Dream #1) by Heather Killough-Walden (269 Pages)
  4. Wicked Thing by Angeline Kace (220 Pages)
  5. Long Night Moon (Seasons of the Moon #3)* by SM Reine (183 Pages)
  6. Asylum (Causal Enchantment #2)* by KA Tucker (252 Pages)
  7. Crimson Midnight (Crimson #1) by Amos Cassidy (397 Pages)
  8. Death’s Hand (Descent #1)* by SM Reine (336 Pages)
  9. Hell Bent/Heaven Sent by Megg Jensen (181 Pages)
  10. Dirty Deeds by S.E. Jakes (83 Pages)

Yes, that’s a lot of books and no, I don’t plan on reading them all. The books aren’t in any particular order, but several are long over due in being read and at least one is a promised Bout-of-Books read. They are the first four on my list, so they are guaranteed to be read. (Five is my number… so I should be good.) Three books are on my Seriously Series Challenge* list, so hopefully I will get to them too. I love multi-tasking! 🙂

This is my 9th Bout-of-Books and I’ve learned a lot. Up until Bout-of-Books 7.0 I had always given everyone a specific number of books that I planned to read. During the last 2 Bout-of-Books I decided to take the ‘whatever happens, happens’ kinda read-a-thon approach and it worked. I read more during Bout-of-Books 7.0 than I have read in any previous Bout-of-Books so far. I didn’t do quite as well during Bout-of-Books 8.0 but I was still pleased with my progress. So, once again I will read as much as I can. Visit as many blogs as I can. Do as many Challenges as I can but most importantly, have as much fun as I can. If I happen to read more books than last time or tear through more pages, that’s great. In the mean time though, I’m not going to sweat it. The only real goal that I am going to stick to is my promise to review books as they’re read. I have to stick to that or I’ll go totally crazy and worry about whether I’ll get the reviews done or not (or more importantly remember what exactly I read.)

So, are you participating in Bout-of-Books 9.0? Do you have goals? If you are and you do, run over to the Bout-of-Books home page and link them up!

11 comments on “Bout-of-Books 9.0 Goals (January 6-12, 2014)

  1. I’m thinking one week, five books… 🙂 And six days of work. Not quite sure how the two things will sync up as of now, but I’m relishing the challenge. Sort of. Lol. I haven’t yet decided whether I should read things that have been on my TBR shelf a REALLY long time, or things I just fancy reading that haven’t been out that long (but which I do own)… Hmm.

    • I usually can count on reading at least 5 books… sometimes more, but very rarely. I think I’ve only passed 5 out of the 8 Bout-of-Books that I’ve already participated in. Most of the books on my list have been sitting around waiting to be read for a while now. Good luck! And most importantly have fun! 😉

  2. The relaxed approach is always a good idea 🙂 It works for me when it comes to blogging, just taking it one day at a time. With Read-a-Thons, though, I do need a goal to cling to…otherwise I forget I’m supposed to be participating in one 😀 Really interesting selection of books, by the way! I hope you can read them all!!

    • Oh, I know I won’t read them all…. at least I don’t think I will. My biggest problem right now is what to start with. I also have to finish the book I’m currently reading and probably pick up the novella that I was sent today as an ARC so I can stay on track with the books that I’ve picked to read. I really want to stick with the Indie theme. I think It’s a pretty interesting selection too. I’ve now read all the authors so I can recommend them all. Can’t wait to start! Good luck! 😉

    • Rules, goals, everything flies out the window when it comes to Bout-of-Books. For instance… I’ve already strayed from my list of books… the very first book actually. *sigh* It wasn’t even an Indie book… but, it was begging to be read so I did. I feel much better now 😉

      Good luck to you too!

Leave a Reply

