The Professional: Part 1 (The Game Maker 0.1) by Kresley Cole

TheProfessionalHe makes the rules . . .
Mafiya enforcer Aleksandr “The Siberian” Sevastyan’s loyalty to his boss is unwavering, until he meets the boss’s long-lost daughter, a curvy, tantalizing redhead who haunts his mind and heats his blood like no other. Ordered to protect her, Sevastyan will do anything to possess her as well—on his own wicked terms.

Rules are made to be broken . . .
PhD student Natalie Porter had barely recovered from her first sight of the breathtakingly gorgeous Sevastyan before the professional hit man whisks her away to Russia, thrusting her into a world of extreme wealth and wanton pleasures. With every day she spends under his protection, she falls deeper under his masterful spell.

Are you ready to play?
Yet all is not as it seems. To remove Natalie from an enemy’s reach, Sevastyan spirits her into hiding. From an opulent palace in Russia to the decadent playgrounds of the mega-wealthy in Paris, the two lovers will discover that even their darkest—and most forbidden—fantasies can come true.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1I may have been just a teensy bit nervous about reading this one. Not because it was contemporary, but because it was contemporary written by a PNR author whose books in that genre I love. I’ve only read the first 3 books in Kresley Cole’s Immortals After Dark series, but I like what I’ve read. When any author jumps into a new genre it can either be hit or miss. I’d say that The Professional: Part 1 was a hit.

From the moment Natalie was introduced I knew I was going to like her. She was smart, witty and that was only part of the reason why I loved the way her mind worked. Her unique take on things was fun and I enjoyed her inner dialogue through most of the book. Sevastyan was about the most alpha of any male I’ve read in a contemporary book. That might be why this genre switch wasn’t as extreme as it could have been for fans of Cole’s writing. It may have also been why their instant attraction to each other didn’t bother me either.

This was one novella that wasn’t lacking in any department. By the end I felt connected to the characters… well as connected as anyone could get to Sevastyan anyway. There was a touch of danger, plenty of intrigue, more than a couple of characters that were a mystery and plenty of heat to keep things interesting. I loved it all… until the end. Yikes!

Can you say CLIFF HANGER?!? Yes, I know this is Part 1 of a series of novellas and I knew that things weren’t going to be wrapped up at the end, but seriously. I kept trying to ‘turn’ the page on my Kindle when I was done. I can’t believe how things just…ended… This might be a good time to mention, once again, AUTHORS ARE EVIL!  How can I not look forward to the next book in this series? At least we don’t have to wait long for the next installment. The Professional: Part 2 & 3 are both scheduled to be released in January, 2014.

DragonFlyRating4

By creativedeeds

2 comments on “The Professional: Part 1 (The Game Maker 0.1) by Kresley Cole

    • Sage advice. It literally ended in the middle of a scene. I swear I tried to get my Kindle to go to the next page more than once. I will be getting the next two, but I won’t be reading them until they are both out. It really was good though – frustrating, but good.

Leave a Reply

