Free Falling by SE Jakes

FreeFallingLgSometimes falling in love is the most dangerous thing of all…

Blue’s a thief who lives for adrenaline and danger. When he meets Mick, a mercenary and a hitter, he feels an immediate attraction. But Mick reneges on a bet they’ve made, leaving Blue pissed and confused.

When they meet again a year later, Blue’s in terrible danger after having walked into the middle of one of Mick’s jobs. Mick saves him, and although the two men have fallen for one another, they have no idea how to handle that kind of intimacy that’s been forced on them. 

But when Mick goes missing on a job, Blue’s the one to go after him, determined to save the man he loves no matter the cost.

Reading novellas is tricky. (Granted, this one’s a little longer than some I’ve read, but at 150 pages I still consider it a novella.) I feel differently almost every time I read one. Sometimes I feel like I need more of everything – just to connect with the characters. Sometimes an author can make a story go full circle and I feel satisfied at the end regardless of the length. And then there are times when I simply want more just because I connected with the characters to such an extent that I didn’t want the story to end. Guess where I was at the end of Free Falling?

There’s nothing quite like the collision course that takes place when you throw two alpha males together. Blue and Mick definitely fall into that category. The thing is, as macho, strong and independent as these two are on the surface, they are both extremely vulnerable. Even thought they were both attracted to each other, this relationship had plenty of hurdles overcome. The biggest was lack of trust. Mick had already proven to Blue that he couldn’t and shouldn’t be trusted. Mick had his reasons, but keeping Blue at a distance was safe – for everyone. It would take something extreme to bring these two back together… it’s a good thing that S.E. Jakes is a pro at extreme… 😉

I love the characters in these books. The good guys aren’t all good, but the bad guys are lethal. This one wasn’t long enough to bring a whole lot of side characters in, but Prophet was front and center. (That’s always a good thing.) I can’t wait to get to know all these guys better. They’re strong, smart, witty and regardless of how much they pretend to not care, they’ve got each other’s backs. Plus, they’re all alpha to the core. What’s not to love?

Free Falling isn’t marked as part of a series, but it includes characters from both S.E. Jakes’ Men of Honor and Hell or High Water series. You don’t have to read both of these series to understand what’s happening in Free Falling (I haven’t read the Men of Honor series yet.) In fact, I kind of wish I would have read this one before I started the Hell of High Water series, especially since Blue and Mick make an appearance in Long Time Gone. Of course, now I can go back and start the series over again before the next book comes out. You know, just to see if I’ve gained a different perspective during the re-read. It has nothing to do with spending more time with Prophet and Tommy. Nope, none at all. I’m nothing if not a conscientious reader. 😉

DragonFlyRating4Thanks to S.E. Jakes for my copy of Free Falling which I won in a random Giveaway 😉 

4 comments on “Free Falling by SE Jakes

    • I still need to pick up the rest of the Men of Honor series. I love these guys. And having Prophet in this one was just a little extra bonus 😉 I can’t wait until Dirty Deeds comes out. I also get to do an interview with SE Jakes as part of the release. Now I just have to decide if I’m going to interview her or one of the guys. Hmmm…

    • Oh, I definitely want to re-read Long Time Gone now that I’ve officially met Mick and Blue. I think I’ll appreciate them so much more now that I know them just a little better… Of course, I’ll use just about any excuse for a re-read. 😉 I really do need to pick up the Men of Honor series though. It’s begging to be read. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

