Reaver (Lords of Deliverance #5 – Demonica #10) by Larissa Ione

ReaverWARRIOR OF HEAVEN
Reaver is an angel with a past, a record, and a less-than-heavenly attitude. Powerful enough to fight alongside the fiercest battle angels-and crazy enough to risk his wings on a one-way mission to hell-he’s agreed to go where no angel has ever gone before…to steal the most seductive and dangerous prize of Satan himself.
ANGEL OF HELL
Harvester is one of the Fallen, a once-heroic angel who sacrificed her wings to work as an undercover agent in hell. But now her cover has been blown, and she’s been doomed to an eternity of agonizing torture. Even if Reaver can snatch her away from Satan’s lair, even if they can fight their way out of the underworld’s darkest depths, there is one thing Harvester can never escape-her newfound thirst for an angel’s blood.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1I started this series in the wrong order… What? It’s not like I’ve never done that before. It happens. At least I’ve read the books in each series in the right order. I just started the Lords of Deliverance series before the Demonica series. It’s made things a little confusing, but not much. The big thing is that a lot happens in the Demonica series that sets up the chain of events that begin at the start of the Lords of Deliverance series. I’m almost caught up though. I only have one more book to read in the Demonica series. The reason I’m mentioning it now is that this is the first book that I felt like it really bothered me. I don’t know why because most of the characters that are in this series were first introduced in the Demonica series. What this really means is that I see a complete series re-read in the near future. That should come to no surprise to anyone either.

I’m always amazed when an author can take a character that they have made us hate and turn them into a character that you not only like but suddenly want to protect. Harvester definitely fits that description. The balance between good and evil that surrounds the Horsemen has always been intriguing to me. Not only were they walking a delicate tight rope between the two, but their Watchers were polar opposites. One thing that this series has proven is that there pure evil and pure good are rare. It’s also proven that nothing is ever exactly as it seems.

Harvester was carrying a secret about her past and when Reaver found out what it was, he was determined to keep his secret from her. Those kinds of situations never end well, so you can imagine how intense things get in Reaver. Between the revelations and the consequences … let’s just say that there were a couple of jaw dropping moments. The least of which were the forces behind all the chaos.

Needless to say, there was a lot going on in Reaver. A few mysteries were solved and a few new characters were introduced as well as learning more about characters that we already knew – or thought we did. I loved all the twists and turns in this book. I also liked the fact that as intense and heartbreaking as it was at times, the wit and humor that I’ve come to expect from the Horsemen and the Demons was still present. That banter was still there and it helped break up the intense moments.

When I first started reading the Lords of Deliverance series I never would have expected Harvester and Reaver to end up together. Yeah, this series has been full of surprises. From the way things were left at the end of Reaver I’m excited to know that the series isn’t over yet. You’ll have to read this one to find out who’s featured next. Things are going to get even more interesting. đŸ˜‰

DragonFlyRating5

SeriouslySeries2013Plug

2 comments on “Reaver (Lords of Deliverance #5 – Demonica #10) by Larissa Ione

    • Yeah… I kind of squealed a little when I got the email. Stay tuned for the Blitz and another new book by Jaime Rush in a week or so.
      Perfect birthday present! And Reaver did not disappoint. His story is heart breaking though and so much more than I thought it would be. *sigh* I loved it! đŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

