Seriously Series Reading 2014 Challenge

SeriouslySeries2014-02This past year’s Seriously Series Reading Challenge was a learning experience. You know the saying ‘my eyes were bigger than my stomach’? Well, I’m not exactly sure how to finagle that statement into words that apply to this scenario, but you get the picture. Basically I put more on my TBR pile than I could possibly handle. *sigh* I don’t easily give up though, so I’m going to give this Challenge another try. I’m going to start by lowering my expectations – or choices anyway. I’m starting with the series that I know I can finish and I’ll go from there. I have 21 series listed and we won’t even discuss how many books that is. Yikes! Even though my list is long I’m keeping my goal low. I’m only shooting for the 1st level, which would make me Semi-Serious, with the hope of moving up to being Seriously-Serious by year’s end. *fingers crossed* This list will probably change, but ONLY if I finish a series. In other words, I won’t add a new series to the list unless I complete at least one series – my own personal reward system. 😉 So what series am I going to try to knock out this year? You can find the list below. If you have a series or two that you’re dying to complete, why not join in on the fun? Hop on over to Kelly’s post at Reading the Paranormalget all the details and sign up!

Seasons of the Moon by SM Reine – COMPLETE!

I started this series a while ago, but I didn’t finish it. Not sure why, just never got around to it. I recently got re-introduced to SM Reine through her Ascension series. It pulls the characters of both her Seasons of the Moon (including the Caine Chronicles) and her Descent series together. They can all be read separately, but the more I read the Ascension series, the more I want to go back and pick up the previous series. Because of that, they will all be added to my Seriously Series list this year.

Books left or currently scheduled in the series

Descent by SM Reine

Books left or currently scheduled in the series

The rest of the books on my list are leftovers from Seriously Series 2013. I did knock out a lot of books, honest. I just have a lot more to go, and I added a lot as I went along. I’m going to try really, really, really hard not to do that this year.

Soul Screamers by Rachel Vincent

Books left or currently scheduled in the series

The Morganville Vampires by Rachel Caine

Books left or currently scheduled in the series

Southern Arcana by Moira Rogers

Books read in 2012 & 2013: Crux #1, Crossroads #2A Peyton Family Christmas #2.4Zola’s Pride #2.5Deadlock #3Two Weddings (and One Near Funeral) #3.5 Books left or currently scheduled in the series

  • Cipher #4
  • Impulse #5
  • Enigma #6

Iron Druid Chronicles by Kevin Hearne

Books left or currently scheduled in the series

  • Two Ravens and One Crow #4.5
  • The Demon Barker of Wheat Street #4.6
  • Trapped #5
  • Hunted #6
  • Shattered #7 (2014 Release)

Kate Daniels by Ilona Andrews

Books left or currently scheduled in the series

  • Magic Slays #5
  • Magic Gifts #5.4
  • Magic Rises #6
  • Magic Breaks #7 (2014 Release)

Immortals After Dark by Kresley Cole

Books left or currently scheduled in the series

  • Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night #4
  • Dark Needs at Night’s Edge #5
  • Dark Desires After Dusk #6
  • Kiss of a Demon King #7
  • Deep Kiss of Winter #8
  • Pleasure of a Dark Prince #9
  • Demon from the Dark #10
  • Dreams of a Dark Warrior #11
  • Lothaire #12
  • MacRieve #13 
  • Dark Sky #14 (2014 Release)

The Paranormals by J.L. Bryan

Books left or currently scheduled in the series

The Soulkeepers by G.P Ching

Books left or currently scheduled in the series

  • Return to Eden #3
  • Soul Catcher #4
  • Lost Eden #5

Men Who Walk the Edge of Honor/Love Undercover  by Lori Foster

Books left or currently scheduled in the series

    • When You Dare #1
    • Trace of Fever #2
    • Savor the Danger #3
    • What Chris Wants #4.5
    • Dash of Peril #4 (LU) 2014 release

Granite Lake Wolves by Vivian Arend

Books left or currently scheduled in the series

  • Wolf Line #5
  • Wolf Nip #6

Eternal Guardians by Elisabeth Naughton

Books left or currently scheduled in the series

Dark-Hunters by Sherrilyn Kenyon

This series is daunting. I can’t even keep up with the number of books in the series, what series they cross or anything else. I didn’t even add the Chronicles of Nick to the mix. Yikes! Let’s just say its A LOT! I am determined to put a formidable dent in it this year though.

Books left or currently scheduled in the series:

  • Dragonswan #0.5
  • Dance with the Devil #4 (Were Hunter #2)
  • Kiss of the Night #5
  • Night Play (Dark-Hunter #6, Were-Hunter#3)
  • Seize the Night #7
  • Sins of the Night #8
  • Unleash the Night #9 (Were-Hunter #4)
  • Dark Side of the Moon #10 (Were-Hunter #5)
  • The Dream-Hunter #11 (Dream-Hunter #1)
  • Fear the Darkness #11.5
  • Devil May Cry #12
  • Upon the Midnight Clear #13 (Dream-Hunter #2)
  • Dream Chaser #14 (Dream-Hunter #3)
  • Acheron #15
  • One Silent Night #16
  • Dream Warrior #17 (Dream-Hunter #4)
  • Bad Moon Rising #18 (Were-Hunter #5, Hellchaser #3)
  • No Mercy #19 (Were-Hunter #6)
  • Retribution #20 (Were-Hunter #7)
  • The Guardian #21 (Were-Hunter #8, Hellchaser #4, Dream Hunter #5)
  • Redemption #21.5
  • Time Untime #22 (Were-Hunter #9, Hellchaser #5
  • Styxx #23
  • Dark Bites #24 (Were-Hunter #10, Dream-Hunter #6, Hellchaser #6)
  • Son of No One #25 (Hellchaser #6) (2014 Release)

Elemental Assassin by Jennifer Estep

Books left or currently scheduled in the series

Midnight Breed by Lara Adrian

Books left or currently scheduled in the series

  • A Touch of Midnight #0.5
  • Midnight Awakening #3
  • Midnight Rising #4
  • Veil of Midnight #5
  • Ashes of Midnight #6
  • Shades of Midnight #7
  • Taken by Midnight #8
  • Deeper Than Midnight #9
  • A Taste of Midnight #9.5
  • Darker After Midnight #10
  • Edge of Dawn #11
  • Crave the Night #12

Causal Enchantment by K.A. Tucker

Books left or currently scheduled in the series

  • Asylum #2
  • Allegiance #3
  • Anomaly #4 (2014 Release)

WVMP Radio by Jeri Smith-Ready

Books left or currently scheduled in the series

  • Bad to the Bone #2
  • Bring on the Night #3
  • Let it Bleed #3.5
  • Lust for Life #4

 Rulers of Darkness by Amanda J. Greene

Books left or currently scheduled in the series

  • Caressed by Night #2
  • Caressed by a Crimson Moon #3

Tucker Springs by L.A. Witt, Marie Sexton, Heidi Cullinan – COMPLETE!

Books left or currently scheduled in the series

Series Started in 2014

Seasons of the Moon: Caine Chronicles by SM Reine – COMPLETE!

I know what you’re thinking. I wasn’t supposed to add any new series to my list this year until I finished the ones that I had already started. This one doesn’t count though. I NEED to read this one to keep up with the rest of the SM Reine series. I’m just being a conscientious reader. 😉

2014 Series Re-Reads

I started this re-read in 2013 and finished the first 4. I still plan to re-read the series (actually it will be a re-re-re-read, but who’s counting? 😉 ) My plan is to get through it in time for The King (or at least come close.)

Black Dagger Brotherhood by J.R. Ward

Yes, this list is still long, but it is considerably shorter than the one that I started out with last year. Will I finish all of them? Probably not, but I plan to put a huge dent in them regardless. Stay tuned… it’s going to be another interesting ‘Seriously Series’ year!

By creativedeeds

10 comments on “Seriously Series Reading 2014 Challenge

  1. That is a lot of books! Yes you need to finish Soul Screamers lol.
    I have a couple series I’d like to complete so I might join this, but definitely not as many as you have. I’ll go check out Kelly’s post!

    • Yep, it is a lot of books, but they are all series that I really want to attack this year. And just like Bout-of-Books, I like to have choices. Lots and lots of choices. I know I won’t get to them all, but it will be fun seeing how many I actually complete. Soul Screamers will be completed this year! The sad part is, I have all but the last book sitting on my shelf.
      Join us Kelsey! It’s a great way to keep track and you know how much fun it is when Kelly’s running the show 😉

  2. There’s a read along for BDB right now with the gals from Under the Covers. It’s fun and a chance for you to really read the brothers. We are currently on book four

    • I’ve participated in a re-read of the BDB before, but I think we just went at our own pace. I’m currently reading Z’s book. I might be caught up and can jump in with the next book. I’ll have to check it out. Thanks! I don’t usually need an excuse to re-visit the brothers, but a little extra incentive never hurts. 😉

    • I think I only totally finished one series this year, and it was one that I started in 2013. *sigh* I need to keep on track this year and pay attention. I get too distracted by all the bright and shiny new books. 😉

  3. I didn’t knock nearly the # I wanted to in 2013, but I made a good go of it. I was amazed at how many new series I was able to cross of….well most of them were 2 book series, not some of these behemoth 20 book series. Don’t knock your effort. You do a lot of new book promotion, so that keeps you from reading old stuff.

    • Thanks Amy! One of the big reasons why I didn’t knock out as many as I planned was because I kept finding so many new and new to me series to get hooked on. I just couldn’t stop! And then I figured I was reading them anyway so I might as well add them to the list…well you know the rest. *sigh* I’m seriously going to try to keep a handle on it next year. Maybe… 😉

Leave a Reply

