Carson’s Night (Stonebrood Saga #1) by Tracey Cooper-Posey

CarsonsNightIt’s August 1977 in New York city and the stunning new Star Wars movie is smashing all box office records.

The weird sculptor Moss Alex Meinhardt lies dead at the foot of an ugly gargoyle he’s half-completed. Natalia Grey’s demon hunter father is also dead and his new partner, the astonishingly sexy Carson Connors, can’t remember how it happened. Carson isn’t sure what role he has played in Natalia’s father’s death, but after one look at Natalia, he does know that guilty or not, he’s doomed.

Vampire lovers, Nick and Damian, have been tracking the Stonebrood clan for nearly a century. When Damian is slashed by one of the clan and barely survives, Nick encourages Tally to take up her father’s sword and her heritage as a demon hunter.

Tally learns that the gargoyles Meinhardt carved have been brought to a life should not have without the help of dark forces she and Carson must defeat — once the gargoyles have risen. But the night is hours away yet, giving time for Tally and Carson to explore their explosive feelings for each other. 

What happened to Carson during the night Tally’s father died and what will happen tonight?

Warning: This story features multiple sex scenes, including anal sex, light bondage and the use of sex toys. Do not read this book if frank sexual language and sex scenes offend you.
No vampires or demon hunters came to harm in the making of this book. Gargoyles have been added to the official hunt list, however.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1I’ve let my opinion on this one simmer a while, and I’m still not sure exactly how I feel about it. I’m thinking I need the whole picture before I can truly decide. (Meaning the rest of the books in the series.)

This isn’t the first Tracey Cooper-Posey book that I’ve read. I read and really enjoyed Dead Again a few months ago. This book is nothing like that one, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. It’s just a different thing.

You know from reading my reviews in the past that novellas to me are hit or miss. Most of the ‘misses’ are because I needed more time to get to know the characters before I felt emotionally invested in anything that may or may not happen between them or to them. I think that may have been my issue with Carson’s Night. Everything happened so fast I didn’t have time to catch up. There were also a lot of characters to get to know in this one – at least from a novella’s standpoint.

After looking into this series a little more I realized that this is really a set-up for the Stonebrood Saga. That made me feel a little bit better about where things were left at the end of Carson’s Night. I liked the characters, the story was interesting and the warning for this one was definitely appropriate (really – pay attention!) I’m hoping that Beauty’s Beasts, the next book in the saga, is a little bit longer and allows me to get to know the characters just a bit better.

DragonFlyGreen3-5

Leave a Reply

