Unseen by J.L. Bryan

UnseenCassidy is a young tattoo artist living in the Little Five Points neighborhood of Atlanta. She’s always suffered terrible nightmares, and sometimes the hideous creatures seem to follow her out of her dreams and into her waking life, though she’s the only one who can see them. Drugs and alcohol can blot them out, but never entirely chase them away.

When a demonic cult begins to take control of the people in her life, including her younger brother, Cassidy discovers that the unseen world of monsters is very real. She can no longer avoid it. To protect those she loves, she must accept her own hidden supernatural talents and face the forces of evil before the sinister cult achieves its twisted goals and casts the world into darkness.

Let me just say that I have never picked up a J.L Bryan book that I CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1didn’t like. He’s made me laugh out loud with his whimsical and light Songs of Magic series. His Paranormals series was intense, heartbreaking and brought with it a powerful message. Then there was Nomad that took readers on a scary and intense trip through time. I thought J.L. Bryan had pulled out all the stops with his previous books. I thought I knew what I was in for when I picked up The Unseen. Not. Even. Close.

Okay, I have to be honest here. When I first started reading The Unseen I really wasn’t sure I was going to like it. I expected the horror… that is the genre after all. I didn’t expect the author to hold back in the details. Whether beautiful or violent, being hesitant or ‘careful’ just isn’t this author’s style. What held me back were the characters. I just couldn’t connect with them. Then, as the layers of the story were revealed, some mysteries were solved and secrets were exposed I understood. My whole feeling about Cassidy and her family and friends changed. Once I reached that point there was no turning back. I couldn’t put The Unseen down and before I knew it, the story was over. Wow!

This is not a book for the faint of heart. Like I said, J.L. Bryan is not known for holding back and he definitely pulled out his entire arsenal in The Unseen. It was intense, scary, violent and graphic. It also had very layered, smart, witty and interesting characters that were reckless but loyal, crazy but brave and more than enough bad guys to keep things interesting. It was definitely a wild ride, but I didn’t want it to end. As a matter of fact, my first response when I was finished was ‘it can’t be over!’ It didn’t end in a cliff hanger, things were wrapped up well, but I could tell that Cassidy’s story wasn’t quite finished. I don’t think it will be any time soon, but hopefully this is one character that J.L. Bryan will be bringing back. I want to know that they’re OK. I want to know what happens next. I want more! Thankfully J.L. Bryan agrees, so stay tuned.  😉

DragonFlyGreen4-5

Leave a Reply

