After the Fall (Tucker Springs #6) by L.A. Witt

AfterTheFallAfter years of saving every penny, Nathan has finally managed to buy the horse of his dreams. He’s looking forward to a summer of exploring the Colorado mountain trails above Tucker Springs with Tsarina. But on their very first ride, a motorcyclist makes a wrong turn, scaring Tsarina into bolting and leaving Nathan with a broken leg, a broken hand, and a ruined summer.

Ryan is a loner and a nomad, content with working odd jobs before moving on to the next town. Feeling guilty for causing the accident that leaves Nathan in two casts, Ryan offers to keep Tsarina exercised until Nathan heals.

Despite their bad start, Nathan and Ryan soon become friends . . . and then much more. But with a couple of nasty breakups in his past, Nathan doesn’t want feelings getting involved—especially knowing that Ryan will never settle down. But since when do feelings ever listen to reason?

Ok, so I read these books out of order… Not the first time I’ve done that, and I’m sure it’s not going to be the last, but this time it kinda sorta CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1worked for me. Why? Well, Nathan was first introduced in the first book in this series – Where Nerves End – and that just so happens to be the last book that I read.  Sometimes not paying attention has its benefits… not that I recommend it, but these books would work well as stand alone novels – they’re just better when read together.

Speaking of Nathan, I really liked getting to know him better in this book. His story wasn’t what I expected. He had a few appearances in previous books, but nothing prepared me for the Nathan that we got in After the Fall. Don’t get me wrong. I’ve always kind of liked Nathan. He was a great friend to Owen in Never a Hero and he was fun in Where Nerves End. Getting inside his head was a totally different experience. He was fiercely independent and didn’t like to ask anyone for anything. Very sneaky of L.A. Witt to put a character like that in a situation where he had no choice but to depend on all of his friends. It left him more vulnerable than he had ever been. It also set up the perfect scenario for him to connect with Ryan.

I really liked Ryan too. He was a loner and didn’t like staying in one place for very long, but the connection between him and Nathan was too strong to fight. The fun part about this one was that neither one of them saw it coming, but everyone around them did. I love those kind of stories.

Once again, the other characters were great. I love the supporting characters in this series. Mostly because we get to revisit characters that we got to know previously. It makes sense since the community is so close knit and they’re more of a family than just friends and acquaintances. I’m really hoping that the series continues because I think there’s more to discover in Tucker Springs.

Even though the books in this series are written by 3 different authors, the writing style and tone of the books is pretty cohesive. I did have to go back and read past descriptions of Nathan in the previous books though. He seemed so much more sure of himself and a little more flamboyant in Where Nerves End and Never a Hero, but I’m still not sure. I think it may be because we get to know the ‘real’ Nathan in After the Fall. Regardless, it didn’t affect my opinion of his book. It just made me dig a little deeper, which isn’t a bad thing at all.

DragonFlyRating4

SeriouslySeries2013Plug

Leave a Reply

