All Hallows Eve Indies Blog Tour Featuring Marie Hall, Review of Death’s Lover & a Giveaway!

AHEI banner blue & purple proto type 3

I’m so excited to be a part of this blog tour! It not only celebrates our favorite Indie authors but also some of their scary, fun and yes even some seriously smexy paranormal books. You can see the full schedule and find out more about the tour at RomanceBookworm’s Reviews or at The Official Website of Best Selling Author Jessie Lane. In the mean time, here’s all the amazing authors that will be featured:

AHEI FINAL confirmed authors

Now for the fun part. The author that I’m featuring today is Marie Hall. I’ve read the first book in Marie’s Kingdom series – Her Mad Hatter, but I haven’t had a chance to read any more of her books or continue the series. I’m so glad that I got paired up with her for this tour because it not only reminded me that I needed to catch up with her Bad Boys in that series but it has also given me a chance to check out her newest series, Eternal Lovers. If Death’s Lover is any indication, I think I’m going to like Marie Hall’s Reapers as much as her Fairytale Bad Boys. 😉

Want to find out a little bit more about the reaper named Cian and his ‘dark witch’ Eve? Here’s my review of Death’s Lover.

Death’s Lover (Eternal Lovers #1)

DeathsLoverEve Philips thought she could never love again. After her husband died in a hit-and-run accident, Eve poured her heart into her potions shop, Witch’s Brew, and hasn’t given any man a second glance—until Cian. As soon as she locks eyes with him, Eve knows she’ll never be the same. Gorgeous and mysterious, he incites a passion in her that she’s never felt before. And it’s almost otherworldly . . .

Cian knows Eve is special the minute they lay eyes on each other. He’s a supernatural being with a dangerous duty, and being seen is not part of the job description. But when he meets the kind, beautiful Eve, all the rules go out the window. Now that his superiors have gotten wind of it, he has a wicked enemy on his tail. Yet all he cares about is Eve: loving her, protecting her—and finding the right time to tell her his dark and terrible secret, a secret that threatens both of their lives.

“When a book has you totally emotionally invested in the characters and heartbroken before the end of the first chapter, you know it’s gonna be good.” 

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1That was my first status update on GoodReads when I started Death’s Lover – and it wasn’t an exaggeration. This book grabbed me and wouldn’t let go from the very first chapter. I love it when that happens – even if it’s breaking my heart in the process. *sigh*

Eve was the kind of character that I knew I was going to like from the very beginning. I loved her spunk, her sense of humor, the love she had for her sisters, the obvious love she had for her husband and most of all her strength.  She survived tragedy and although she didn’t feel like she could open up her heart, she didn’t crumble either. Basically, she was someone I’d love to get to know.

Cian was broken, but determined. His brokenness didn’t come from a love lost, or one specific tragedy. He was broken by his circumstance. He hated what he was and what defined him. He knew from the moment that he saw Eve that she was worth saving. Falling in love with her was just an added incentive to protect her from the inevitable.

I loved the world that Marie Hall created in Death’s Lover. What better place than San Francisco for supernaturals to congregate and feel safe? They lived among the humans and even though they were ‘on display’ they lived in relative peace without hiding who or what they were. There were quite a variety of ‘species’ but they didn’t mix, at least not any more than they had to. The fact that the Fey were the outcasts in this menagerie of supernatural beings just reinforced Cian’s low opinion of himself. Eve was comfortable with the world she lived in and didn’t see the danger that Cian knew existed.

This series promises to be intense if Death’s Lover is any indication. There was plenty of action, the supporting characters were more than just ‘there’ – including the bad guys. There were twists and turns in the direction the story took as well as what side of the proverbial fence the characters placed themselves. Although some mysteries were solved, there are even more to be uncovered and I can’t wait to see what’s in store for San Francisco’s supernaturals as the series continues. The next book, Death’s Redemption, comes out in March of 2014.

DragonFlyRating4So, yeah… I kinda liked Death’s Lover. Since it’s almost Halloween and this is the All Hallow’s Eve Indies Blog Tour, it’s the perfect time to read a good PNR with a loving witch and a sexy but scary grim reaper. Once you finish that one, you should check out the rest of Marie Hall’s books. Want to learn more about Marie? Here’s a couple of ways to track her down 😉

GoodReadsAmazon • WebsiteTwitterFacebookBlog

Oh, yeah. Did I mention there was a Giveaway? Yep, there’s a Giveaway! Follow the link below to the Rafflecopter entry form for your chance to win all the awesome prizes, including a Kindle Fire + 100 books! Then spread the word and be sure to check out all the other awesome authors featured on the All Hallows Eve Indies Blog Tour!

1399822_353748951428788_2031581504_o

By creativedeeds

8 comments on “All Hallows Eve Indies Blog Tour Featuring Marie Hall, Review of Death’s Lover & a Giveaway!

  1. Pingback: 2nd Day of the All Hallows Eve Indies Blog Tour! | Book Crack Pimp Extraordinaire...

  2. When a book has you totally emotionally invested in the characters and heartbroken before the end of the first chapter, you know it’s gonna be good.”

    THIS! I knew you were going to love it when you posted that and I am glad it worked that way all the way through 🙂

    • Yep, that first chapter pretty much tore me up. This book and series originally had a different title and the first chapter was totally different. The only reason I know that is because the first chapter is at the end of ‘Her Mad Hatter.’ I like this one much better, but it was kind of nice reading the original too. I love it when a book grabs you from the beginning and ‘Death’s Lover’ definitely did that. Can’t wait for the next book!
      Thanks for stopping by 😉 There are a lot of great PNR authors on this tour to check out.

  3. I have been a huge Marie Hall fan from the very beginning. She just has a way of characterizing her men that makes you desperate to crawl into the pages with them. There’s enough humor to give me the laugh I so rely on books for, but not so much humor that I can’t feel the emotional turmoil of her characters. I love them all. Marie Hall is definitely on my auto-buy list 🙂

    • I read ‘Her Mad Hatter’ earlier this year and recently went back and read it again. I loved her take on the Mad Hatter. Now I can’t wait to read the rest of the Bad Boy series. Thanks for stopping by!

    • Yeah, every time I look at another post on this tour I end up heading to Amazon to either put books in my shopping cart, wish list or actually purchase them. My TBR pile is eventually going to bury me, but that’s what makes these tours so much fun! Thanks for stopping by and organizing the tour. 😉

  4. Pingback: All Hallows Eve Indies Blog Tour Stop & Giveaway – Joe by H.D. Gordon | Entirely Books

Leave a Reply

