The Iron Traitor (The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten #2) by Julie Kagawa

IronTraitorIn the real world, when you vanish into thin air for a week, people tend to notice.

After his unexpected journey into the lands of the fey, Ethan Chase just wants to get back to normal. Well, as “normal” as you can be when you see faeries every day of your life. Suddenly the former loner with the bad reputation has someone to try for-his girlfriend, Kenzie. Never mind that he’s forbidden to see her again.

But when your name is Ethan Chase and your sister is one of the most powerful faeries in the Nevernever, “normal” simply isn’t to be. For Ethan’s nephew, Keirran, is missing, and may be on the verge of doing something unthinkable in the name of saving his own love. Something that will fracture the human and faery worlds forever, and give rise to the dangerous fey known as the Forgotten. As Ethan’s and Keirran’s fates entwine and Keirran slips further into darkness, Ethan’s next choice may decide the fate of them all.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1Okay, I’ve gotta be honest here. I finished this book over 2 weeks ago. I really can’t remember the last time it took me this long to write a review. Sometimes I’ve put off writing a review because I didn’t enjoy a book and I want to make sure I write an honest review without insulting anyone in the process. Granted, those are hard reviews to write. That, however, has nothing to do with my hesitation toward writing this review. No, this stalling was simply because I’m still reeling from everything that happened in this book – plain and simple.

I’ve been in love with this world that Julie Kagawa created since I first read The Iron King over 2 years ago. The characters are strong, the world building is amazing and there is a balance between darkness and light that is constant. I was excited when I found out that the series would continue through The Call of the Forgotten with Ethan. So far, I have not been disappointed.

Ethan is so different than Meghan, at least where the Fey are concerned. Where Meghan’s legacy was totally wrapped within the Fey, Ethan’s goal was to live day to day without even encountering them while also trying to keep everyone he knew and loved safe. Two books into the second part of this series and he hasn’t come close to succeeding. There are too many people to protect, too many Fey in the world and he is in far too deep.

The stakes were so much higher in The Iron Traitor – Kenzie for one. Ethan was used to his parents avoiding the issue. Kenzie wouldn’t allow it. She knew what Ethan was up against and wouldn’t take no for an answer. I loved that about her, but it also broke my heart. Mainly because of why she fought so hard. Throw a suddenly over protective dad into the equation and a nephew with a death wish – because he felt he had nothing to live for and you kind of get a picture of exactly how intense this book actually was.

I really did like this book. I liked seeing Meghan and Ash. I loved the protectiveness that they both showed toward both Ethan and Keirran. I loved seeing both Puck and Grimalkin make an appearance with their wit and sarcasm. It’s just that everything that happened was so overwhelming. My heart was breaking for more than one character during the course of this book.

Keirran needed to save his true love. Ethan was torn between his need to escape, his need to protect and his sense of honor and the forces against all of them never stopped. Kenzie because of her life situation in general and Meghan and Ash because of fate. This was one book that didn’t slow down and was impossible to put aside once you started. I can tell you this, if you are not a fan of cliff hangers do not read this book until the third book n this series is closer to release. you can thank me later.

IronsProphecyBTW – if you haven’t read Iron’s Prophecy, you really need to pick it up. Preferably before you start the Call of the Forgotten series. It won’t give anything away, but it will enlighten you enough that you won’t be in the dark as far as what exactly these characters are in for. As of the writing of this review it was still FREE.

DragonFlyRating5

Leave a Reply

