Unscrupulous (Manhattanites #2) by Avery Aster

UnscrupulousAt thirty-three Warner Truman is one of the richest men on the planet, a spa mogul who buys and sells resorts at will. He holds powerful executive’s careers in his well-groomed hands. Nothing is beyond Warner’s reach…until he meets her.

Stunning, tantalizing, and perverse, Taddy Brill captivates Warner’s carnal desire like no woman he’s ever met. A self-made millionaire, Taddy is tougher than steel, more brilliant than diamonds and, at twenty-seven, she’s never depended on a man for anything…until she meets him.

The more Taddy plays with Warner’s affections, driving him to erotic heights, the more she is confronted by a dark past. But before she can love him, Taddy must meet her worst fears head-on or risk losing it all, including herself.

A Romantica® contemporary erotic romance from Ellora’s Cave

I have to be honest, I almost didn’t review this book. The problem is, I’m not exactly sure why. Have you ever read a book that just rubbed you the wrong way, but you couldn’t put your finger on it? Well, that’s exactly where I am after CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1finishing Unscrupulous. *sigh*

I liked Warner and Taddy. They were great together and I was really happy that is where they ended up. I liked the supporting characters – especially Lex – and I liked the loyalty that they all had toward each other. There was just something missing. I think we’ll just chalk this one up to falling into my lap at the wrong time. It might also be because it’s the second book in the series and I didn’t read the first. Regardless of what didn’t click between me and this book, don’t take my word for it entirely. There are plenty of others out there who really liked it, so if you like strong, self made female characters and aren’t afraid of an erotic story line, give the Manhattanites a try. Once you do, let me know what you think because I may start from the beginning of the series and give it another whirl.

Other reviews you may want to check out:
♡ Sassy ~ Amy ♡ @ Good Reads

DragonFlyRating3

2 comments on “Unscrupulous (Manhattanites #2) by Avery Aster

  1. This doesn’t sound like a book I would click with but I have been there (just finished one) with the book that you don’t click with but the premise should be right up my alley. I had to write the review pronto before it went into the hole of no review.

    • I know and I hate it when that happens. Regardless of how it may seem, I am fairly picky about the books that I pick up as freebies or for review. Especially when it comes to contemporary books. I came really close to not reviewing this one but I bit the bullet. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

