Bout-of-Books 8.0 Goals (August 19-25, 2013)

BoutOfBooks-880x400-03

It’s that time again! I honestly love this week of reading mayhem. Sure I don’t get much sleep and I put myself into a reading/review frenzy, which ironically isn’t a lot different than the norm. The difference is that I’m doing it with a whole bunch of great bloggers and readers that are doing the same thing. Plus, there’s no competition, no pressure and a whole lot of silliness and shenanigans thrown into the mix. I get to visit blogs, meet new bloggers and even find new reads to add to my TBR list. What could be more fun?

Just in case you’re new to Bout-of-Books, here’s the official Blurb direct from Kelly and Amanda:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 19th and runs through Sunday, August 25th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 8.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

Now for the fun part! I get to list my goals 😉 Okay, it’s confession time (once again.) I did manage to do a little bit better this time, but I still have 2 books left over from my Bout-of-Books 7.0 list. They’re back and since at least one of them is a leftover from Bout-of-Books 6.0, I’d love to say I will definitely get it read this time, I’m making no promises. I will do my best though. I’ve discovered from previous Bout-of-Books that this list is subject to change. It’s Bout-of-Books week so anything can happen!

  1. The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey (404 Pages)
  2. Ecstasy Unveiled (Demonica #4)* by Larissa Ione (400 Pages)
  3. Awakening Foster Kelly by Cara Rosalie Olsen (703 Pages)
  4. The Shadow of Mudflap (Foxtrot Team #1) by Christi Snow (215 Pages)
  5. Endure (Protector #4) by MR Merrick (340 Pages)
  6. Exhale (Just Breathe #2)* by Kendall Grey (344 Pages)
  7. Deadly Sting (Elemental Assassin #8)* by Jennifer Estep (404 Pages)
  8. Dance with the Devil (Dark Hunter #4, Were Hunter #1)* by Sherrilyn Kenyon (362 Pages)
  9. Asylum (Causal Enchantment #2)* by KA Tucker (252 Pages)
  10. Lover Enraptured (Thieves of Aurion #2) by Jodi Redford (306 Pages)
  11. Sacrificed in Shadow (Ascension #1) by S.M. Reine (290 Pages)
  12. Carnipunk: Parlor Tricks Elemental Assassin #8.1) by Jennifer Estep (45 pages)

Yes, that’s a lot of books and no, I don’t plan on reading them all. A lot of these books are on my Seriously Series Challenge* list. If the mood hits or if I’m in need of a short, sweet late night read I might even throw in a book or novella and add them to my Why Buy the Cow? Challenge list. I love multi-tasking!

This is my 8th Bout-of-Books and I’ve learned a lot. Up until Bout-of-Books 7.0 I had always given everyone a specific number of books that I planned to read. During the last Bout-of-Books I decided to take the ‘whatever happens, happens’ kinda read-a-thon approach and it worked. I read more during the last read-a-thon than I have read in any previous Bout-of-Books so far. So, once again I will read as much as I can. Visit as many blogs as I can. Do as many Challenges as I can but most importantly, have as much fun as I can. If I happen to read more books than last time or tear through more pages, that’s great. In the mean time though, I’m not going to sweat it. The only real goal that I am going to stick to is my promise to review books as they’re read. I have to stick to that or I’ll go totally crazy and worry about whether I’ll get the reviews done or not (or more importantly remember what exactly I read.)

So, are you participating in Bout-of-Books 8.0? Do you have goals? If you are and you do, run over to the Bout-of-Books home page and link them up!

21 comments on “Bout-of-Books 8.0 Goals (August 19-25, 2013)

  1. This is very much how I feel about Bout of Books, too! I just make a list of two or three books I really want to read and then a bunch of other books that I maybe will read if I feel like it. And I have no problem switching that up if I’m not feeling certain books. Good luck!

  2. Your GOALS rock!!! Learn to throw rigid out with the bath water. Woohoo! I definitely got rid of book #s, but I aim for 1000 pages. But I definitely don’t put myself in time-out if it doesn’t happen. FUN is the key. You have some addictive looking doozies on your list. I have a feeling you’ll set new AWESOMEness in 8.0.

    • I do have some AMAZING books on my list, don’t I? 😀 I love stacking the deck with books I’m sure will keep me reading, but I may have out done myself this time. As for the fun, with Bout-of-Books that’s pretty much a given. Can’t wait!

    • Thanks! Laid back worked great for me last time so I decided that was the way to go. A lot of the books on my list are ones that have been sitting around for a while. At least one of them marks the end of a series that I’ve really been procrastinating about because I don’t want to say ‘good-bye.’ I’m such a book nerd!

  3. I used to have much more ambitious goals for the earlier Bout of Books readathons, but now I’m much more lenient to myself, especially this time, when I have a bad reading year. Reading alone will be a success. Good luck with your goals and enjoy!

    • Thanks! I was in a 5 book rut for a long time, then I finally broke it, then I fell back to less than 5. Then I realized, any reading is a success – it’s the fun that I’m really in it for. Hope you have a great Bout-of-Books experience this time 😉

  4. Haha, good to know I’m not the only one who includes goal repeats! I didn’t this time around, but I have before. Good luck! Especially on the ones you’ve been meaning to read for a while. 😉

    • Yeah *blush* one of these books (which shall remain nameless) has been around for at least 2 prior Bout-of-Books. If I don’t get to it this time, I will not be putting it on the list again. That doesn’t mean I won’t read it though. Honest 😉

    • Darn computer posted before I was ready for it to! I was GOING to say – I love the idea of adding unread books from previous rounds. That’s a great way to ensure they get read!

      • Happens to me all the time! I really hope I get to the books I haven’t read. No promises though. One of my books is Looonnnngggg… but I’m enjoying it though. I will be breaking it up though. I don’t want to get bogged down. Have fun!

  5. Good luck with your goals this week! I do the “whatever happens” approach and always end up going off my original pile of goal books. But it works! Happy reading 😀

    • Yeah, Day 2 is going to be a total fail, but I worked all day and I’m getting ready for an event on my blog for September and time is not on my side… and that’s exactly why goals never work out. I’ll make up for it though. Happy reading to you too 😉

Leave a Reply

