Where Nerves End (Tucker Springs #1) by L.A. Witt

WhereNervesEndWelcome to Tucker Springs, Colorado: Population, 70-something-thousand. Home to beautiful mountain views, two respected universities, and a ridiculously high cost of living.

Jason Davis can handle a breakup. And an overwhelming mortgage. And a struggling business. And the excruciating pain that keeps him up at night thanks to a shoulder injury. Handling all of it at once? Not so much. When his shoulder finally pushes him to a breaking point, he takes a friend’s advice and gives acupuncture a try.

Michael Whitman is a single dad struggling to make ends meet. When a mutual friend refers a patient, and that patient suggests a roommate arrangement to alleviate their respective financial strains, Michael jumps at the opportunity.

Living together would be easy if Jason wasn’t so damned attracted to Michael. Good thing Michael’s straight, or the temptation might just be too much.

Well, their mutual friend says Michael is straight.

Yes, I am well aware of the fact that I am writing the review for Book 1 of this series after I’ve already reviewed books 2-5. I didn’t skip the review, honest. I just skipped reading it until I had already read the rest of the books in the series. Hey, it happens. The good news is, other than not meeting these characters from the beginning of their relationship, skipping this book didn’t confuse me at all. It does, however, set the stage and introduce a lot of the other characters so it’s probably best to start at the beginning.  It’s another one of those ‘do as I say, not as I do moments.’ *sigh*

Regardless of when you read it, this book is a great addition to the Tucker Springs series. I really liked the characters and as usual, the supporting characters are included in that group. They are as important in most of these stories as the main characters. I think what I like most about Tucker Springs is not only the sense of community but the sense of family and support.

I loved the struggle between these two characters as much as I wanted to lock them in a room together and make them talk. The reasons that they weren’t together were valid, but the torture that they put each other through was heartbreaking to watch. The book was told from Jason’s POV which worked because Michael’s feelings were a mystery. I liked not knowing what was going on with him until it was revealed to Jason.

One of the things that struck me most about Where Nerves End was Michael’s son. A lot of times when a child is included in an adult book the character is just there to be there. I know I’m not explaining it well, but I think you may know what I mean. It’s easy to make them or see them as just a prop or device to add something to the story. Granted, he wasn’t around a lot, but when he was, I liked the way his character was handled. He was a true addition to the story and the scenes that he was included. L.A. Witt’s description of his actions and his dialogue was pretty much what you would expect from a bright kid his age. One of my favorite quotes in this one actually came from Dylan, but since it’s near the end I don’t want to share it. Trust me though, if you read the book, when you get to it, you’ll know exactly what I’m talking about.

So after finishing this book I’m currently at the end of my Tucker Springs journey. I really hope that there is more to come though. *fingers crossed*

DragonFlyRating4

SeriouslySeries2013Plug

8 comments on “Where Nerves End (Tucker Springs #1) by L.A. Witt

    • I really liked this series (obviously) 😉 I didn’t pick up the genre until about a year ago and am so glad I finally did. I really hope that these authors add some more books – I’m not quite ready to say goodbye to Tucker Springs. *sigh*

    • Thanks Christi… When I won a GC to Amber Quill Press from a contest sponsored by Jodi Redford I got this one and Moira Rogers’ Deadlock. I’d say I put it to good use 🙂 Finishing this one also marks my first completed series in my Seriously Series Challenge too! I still can’t decide which one of the books is my favorite, but it is definitely worth reading them all. Enjoy!

    • I started this series with the second book and continued from there. I’ve avoided the M/M genre forever, and I’m honestly not sure why. A love story is a love story regardless and I love this community that these authors have created. This is the introduction to Tucker Springs, but I honestly didn’t lose anything, other than the introduction, by saving it for last.

      • I don’t avoid M/M, I just don’t really come across it much. As you say, a love story is a love story regardless. Know what I REALLY don’t see much of though? F/F. The world needs more lady love.

      • I wasn’t really avoiding it. It’s back to that contemporary vs. paranormal romance thing again. The first one I picked up had a paranormal aspect and reading that one was all it took. Since then I’ve found a couple of authors I really like. I adore Anne Tenino – her witty characters are the best. As for F/F, you’re right. NetGalley is picking up a few here and there, but there aren’t many to choose from at all.

Leave a Reply

