Fade Out (The Morganville Vampires #7) By Rachel Caine / Bout-of-Books 7.0 Review

FadeOutWithout the evil vampire Bishop ruling over the town of Morganville, the resident vampires have made major concessions to the human population. With their newfound freedoms, Claire Danvers and her friends are almost starting to feel comfortable again…

Wow… just when I think that things can’t get any more intense in Morganville, Rachel Caine decides to take everything up a notch. It would be pretty boring if Claire, Shane, Michael and Eve had a normal day, but then this is Morganville we’re talking about. Nothing is ever normal.

Needless to say, a lot happens in Fade Out. The town is still recovering from events that took place during Carpe Corpus. The process seemed to strengthen the resolve of some and forced others to crumble. I found myself sympathizing with characters that I would have never thought I’d care about. That’s the crazy (and kind of amazing) thing about the Morganville Vampires series. Nothing is ever quite the way it seems and the players keep changing. I admire authors who can make you change strong opinions about characters from book to book in a series, but somehow Rachel Caine has accomplished it (from chapter to chapter at times) more often than I can count.

The thing that gives these books so many twists and turns, also makes them pretty complicated to review. That is, without sounding like a broken recored – waxing poetic about non-descript reasons why you should read them. I’m honestly not being lazy, I just don’t want to give anything away. I can tell you that danger in this one comes from every angle. Friends become enemies and enemies become allies – to an extent. Even people who can be trusted have moments when they can’t (or shouldn’t be.) Some events put a strain on relationships that aren’t quite resolved by the end. Fade Out was jam packed full of all of that and more.

MorganvillevampiresVol4I’ve been reading the Morganville Vampires series in Volumes and I think that I’ll continue to do it that way. They are short, fast reads but they are packed full of action, mystery and just enough romance to keep things interesting. I read Fade Out in Volume 4. Next up is #8, Kiss of Death which is the second book in this volume. Since these are pretty quick reads, I’m really glad that I decided to read them this way. That way I don’t have to stay in suspense long.

SeriouslySeries2013Plug

6 comments on “Fade Out (The Morganville Vampires #7) By Rachel Caine / Bout-of-Books 7.0 Review

    • Oh, but you have plenty of time to catch up 😉 I’ve been taking my time between these and I’m not exactly sure why. I have Volumes 1-5 so it’s not like they’re not here. Catch up and we can read Kiss of Death together!

      • Eeep! I only have books 1-10. I guess that means I have to break down and buy Last Breath before I get through Volume 5. I won the ARC of Bitter Blood last month and the Volumes stop at 5 so I’m going to have to start picking them up individually now anyway. *sigh* You do know this is all your faulty, right? 😛

Leave a Reply

