Deadlock (Southern Arcana #3) by Moira Rogers / Bout-of-Books 7.0 Review

DeadlockAbandoned by her wolf shifter father and raised by her human psychic mother, Carmen Mendoza can’t deny she’s different. She craves things most women shy away from—and she has a trail of shapeshifting ex-boyfriends to prove it.

Working at a clinic for supernatural creatures, she’s escaped the notice of her father’s legacy-obsessed family. Until they need a pawn in their bid for power. Snared by a vicious spell designed to wake her inner wolf, Carmen’s only hope is to trust the one man strong enough to soothe her darkest instincts.

Alec Jacobson was once the heir apparent to the wolves’ ruling elite, until he walked away to marry the woman he loved. She paid with her life. Now he lives as a rebel, a black-sheep alpha who protects the supernatural residents of New Orleans from the wolves’ barbaric class system. Too bad he can’t protect himself from his need for Carmen.

Yet staking his claim on his enemy’s niece will turn his city into a battleground. Unless he can find a way to stop breaking the rules—and start making them.

Would someone please tell me why it’s taken me so long to jump back into this series. I know I’ve made that statement before, but not including the last two novellas, it has been over a year since I read Crossroads, the last book in this series. A YEAR! That is totally unacceptable.

This world that Moira Rogers has created is amazing. There is so much to it. There are shifters, and there’s magic and crooked politics and danger and amazing characters that include strong, independent women and crazily protective alpha males. This series is seriously swoon worthy.

If you’ve followed this series at all, you know the kind of anticipation that has led up to Alec’s story. If anyone deserves a HEA, it is definitely him. Until you read Deadlock though, you have no idea exactly how heart breaking his story really is. He has spent his life feeling like he has to protect everyone and in the process neglecting himself. He has built such a huge wall around himself that he’s shut himself off. Carmen was the perfect character to break down that wall. It wasn’t easy and from past books in this series no one’s survival is guaranteed, but the wait was oh so worth it.

The romance wasn’t the only aspect of this installment of the Southern Arcana series. A lot happens that will change the lives of the characters, both old and new. Readers also got to spend some time with characters that we’ve met in previous installments. Their personalities mesh so well and there is so much love and loyalty between them that you can’t help but think of them all as family. Yep, this world is amazing… no other way to put it.

The next couple’s story is also a long time coming. I have no idea what Moira Rogers finally has in store for Kat and Andrew but whatever it is, I can promise it won’t take nearly as long for me to pick up Cipher. I’m officially hooked… again. 😉

DragonFlyRating5

SeriouslySeries2013Plug

6 comments on “Deadlock (Southern Arcana #3) by Moira Rogers / Bout-of-Books 7.0 Review

    • Oh Christi… you must at least try the first one… Crux. I’m pretty sure you would love this world. I pretty much like all books written by the Moira Rogers duo, but this series is my favorite. Kelly loves it too, so if you have any other doubts, you can check out her reviews on GoodReads. 🙂

      • I know the feeling. I won this one… or a coupon that I used to buy it with. I will have to break down and buy Cipher. I can’t wait another year to jump back in. 😉

    • Thanks Danielle. This really is a great series. The first one is Crux, which I didn’t review when I first read it. Oh well, that just means that I need to reread it so I can give an up-to-date review. 😉 The sacrifices I make! LOL! Thanks for stopping by and following.

Leave a Reply

