Bout-of-Books 7.0 Goals (May 13-19, 2013)

BoutOfBooks-880x400-03

It’s that time again! I honestly love this week of reading mayhem. Sure I don’t get much sleep and I put myself into a reading/review frenzy, which ironically isn’t a lot different than the norm. The difference is that I’m doing it with a whole bunch of great bloggers and readers that are doing the same thing. Plus, there’s no competition, no pressure and a whole lot of silliness and shenanigans thrown into the mix. I get to visit blogs, meet new bloggers and even find new reads to add to my TBR list. What could be more fun?

Just in case you’re new to Bout-of-Books, here’s the official Blurb direct from Kelly and Amanda:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 13th and runs through Sunday, May 19th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 7.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

Now for the fun part! I get to list my goals 😉 Okay, it’s confession time (once again.) I may have just a couple of books left over from my Bout-of-Books 6.0 list still chilling on my shelves. I did a good job of getting rid of leftovers on my list last time, so I’m going to attempt to do the same thing this time. Therefore, the first 3 books on my list will be read first. Everything else will be read in no particular order. Of course, there’s always a chance that something totally different will show up here as well. It’s Bout-of-Books week so anything can happen!

  1. No Rest for the Wicked (Immortals After Dark #3) by Kresley Cole (384 Pages)
  2. Where She Went (If I Stay #2) by Gayle Forman (264 Pages)
  3. The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey (404 Pages)
  4. The Hunt (VV Inn #2) by C.J. Ellisson (300 Pages)
  5. My Soul to Keep (Soul Screamers #3) by Rachel Vincent (296 Pages)
  6. Fade Out (Morganville Vampires #7) by Rachel Caine (215 Pages)
  7. Deadlock (Southern Arcana #3) by Moira Rogers (264 Pages)
  8. Magic Strikes (Kate Daniels #3) by Ilona Andrews (310 Pages)
  9. Tempted (Eternal Guardians #3) by Elisabeth Naughton (400 Pages)
  10. Kiss of Crimson (Midnight Breed #2) by Lara Adrian (387 Pages)
  11. Ecstasy Unveiled (Demonica #4) by Larissa Ione (400 Pages)
  12. Enemy Within (Vampire Born #2) by Angeline Kace (341 Pages)
  13. Ethan’s Mate (The Vampire Coalition #1) by J.S. Scott (57 Pages)
  14. Two Weddings (And One Near Funeral) (Southern Arcana #3.5) by Moira Rogers (31 Pages)

Yes, that’s a lot of books and no, I don’t plan on reading them all. A lot of these books (actually all but 4 5) are on my Seriously Series Challenge list. If the mood hits or if I’m in need of a short, sweet late night read I might even throw in a book or two for my Why Buy the Cow? Challenge too. I love multi-tasking!

This is my 7th Bout-of-Books and I’ve always given everyone a specific number of books that I plan to read, but I’m not doing that this time. Basically, this will be a ‘whatever happens, happens’ kinda read-a-thon for me. I want to read as much as I can. Visit as many blogs as I can. Do as many Challenges as I can but most importantly, have as much fun as I can. If I happen to read more books than last time or tear through more pages, that’s great. In the mean time though, I’m not going to sweat it. The only goal from previous Bout-of-Books that I am going to stick to is my promise to review books as they’re read. I have to stick to that or I’ll go totally crazy and worry about whether I’ll get the reviews done or not.

So, are you participating in Bout-of-Books 7? Do you have goals? If you are and you do, run over to the Bout-of-Books home page and link them up!

By creativedeeds

24 comments on “Bout-of-Books 7.0 Goals (May 13-19, 2013)

    • I could do that too… but as usual, I’m stacking the deck. I’d like to cross at least 1 series off my list as complete before the year is out and I’m pretty much hooked on all of them at the moment. 😉

    • Odds are very good that I will pick up a novella here and there during the week. Especially if I decide to read one on my Kindle late at night. Of course 3 of the books I have listed are already on my Kindle. I can’t wait to get started either 😉 I love Bout-of-Books!

  1. I still have to decide what my specific goals are, but I like the idea of just having fun and reading what you can!
    That definitely is am impressive list, and I hope you can get some of them done!

    • It’s taken me 6 Bout-of-Books to figure out that Goals just don’t happen for me. I think I’ve reached my projected goal for books once and gone over it once. I figure if I don’t have a number I can’t not reach it, right? Plus, if I don’t bog myself down on a number that I have to reach then I can take the time to participate more. I missed that last time. *sigh*

      • Very good point! I’ve decided to forgo a certain number of books to read this time and just enjoy myself and have fun! Thanks for the inspiration by the way 🙂

      • Happy to inspire 😉 I’ll be keeping track, so it will be interesting to see what happens with even less pressure than I put on myself than before (which wasn’t much.) My main goal this time is to visit and interact more without feeling guilty about not reading while I’m doing it.

  2. I usually go for “read at least x amount of pages” per day type goals, this time I’ll likely go for “read at least x hours per day” because that allows more leniency but I know will be doable. 🙂

    Also, why isn’t Morganville at #1, missy?! You’re about to get onto the good ones (excluding 10, we’ll pretend 10 never happened..).

    • Oh I will definitely get to Fade Out this time around. I didn’t finish the Morganville book that I had listed on my Bout-of-Books 6 list but I’ll start this one as soon as I get those first three left overs done. I promise! And… now you’re making me dread #10.

    • Thanks! I had Where She Went on my list last time and didn’t get to it. It will be one of the first that I pick up this time. I loved If I Stay and I’ve heard that this one is even better. 😉 Hope you have a good Bout-of-Books week. I’m excited too!

    • I had it on my list for the last Bout-of-Books but didn’t get to it. One of my friends gave it to me for Christmas and I’ve been wanting to read it for a while now. I’ve heard good things about it. Can’t wait until next week! Thanks for stopping by 😉

    • I have got to read Snow Child this time. It’s been sitting on my shelf since Christmas making me feel guilty for not picking it up. Especially since I had it on my BoB list last time. *sigh* Thanks for stopping by! 😉

  3. I love Where She Went, it’s a great book. I really want to start the Soul Screamers series, especially as I have most of the books already. Not setting goals is actually a really good idea…I might do that next time too, haha!

    • I’ve heard nothing but good things about Where She Went and it’s a short one compared to the others so there is absolutely no excuse for me not reading it next week. I love the Soul Screamers series. I’ve been picking them up in Volumes and I have 1 & 2. Can’t wait to start tearing into my list! Thanks for stopping by 😉

  4. Reading the books left over from last time is a great idea! I’m totally going to try that next time 🙂 (I’ve got about twelve books on my tbr pile for this, so there will definitely be leftovers!). Also I really want to read The Snow Child, as I love fairytale type things.

    • I’ve had so many people tell me how good The Snow Child is I think I definitely better get to it this time. I think my first physical book is going to be Where She Went though. I’ve been putting that one off WAY too long. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

