Let’s Talk! (Week #26 – 4/26/13)

We’re up to week 26 of Let’s Talk! It’s sparked some very interesting and lively conversations and given us all something to think about. That’s always a good thing. Here’s what Smash and Kt have to tell us about the weekly meme.

Originally hosted by Melissa from i swim for oceans, Smash & Kt took her original inspiration, and made it their own, expanding it to more than just books. Let’s get personal (but respectfully so) and learn more about one another!  Each week, a different question will be posted along with a place to link up your posts and visit other people’s responses. This meme is definitely meant to bring out conversation and meet new people. So, Let’s Talk!

And here’s Today’s Question:

Do you accept review requests? If not, why? If so, then how many review requests do you get in a month? How many do you accept? How do you balance between review requests and reading your own books? Have you ever gone out of your way to reduce your incoming review books? With so many review books being offered (solicited or not) to book bloggers, have you ever emailed a publicist to reduce the number of books sent? Do you ever feel guilty over receiving these review books that you know you won’t be able to get to knowing other book bloggers could benefit from them? How do you deal? (Thanks, KT and Na)

From the length of this week’s question I’m guessing I should be thankful that I don’t receive a lot of review requests. Most of the review books that I have are ones that I have requested. The handful of requests that I have gotten are either from authors who ‘know’ me or have actually taken the time to look at the books I’ve reviewed and base their requests on genres that they see on my blog. So yeah, I guess I consider myself lucky. For the most part, I’m still reading for pleasure.

That doesn’t mean that I’m not aware of the issue. Even though I’m not overwhelmed with requests, I still handle the ones that I receive with care. I don’t have a lot of scheduling issues on my blog as of now, but when I do receive a request I ask for a time frame. If I have a conflict I let them know and tell them what I can do. It’s worked for me so far but I know that the longer I’m a part of this world the more inevitable the risk of becoming overwhelmed will be.

So what about you? How do you keep yourself from becoming overwhelmed by review requests? Do you still get the chance to read books just because you want to? Join this week’s discussion and Let’s Talk!

11 comments on “Let’s Talk! (Week #26 – 4/26/13)

  1. I always always struggle to balance between accepting too much and just stopping altogether! Recently I’ve started requesting again but there are still older review books I’d like to one day squeeze in. However, my new year’s resolution was to read more for pleasure than necessity and I will first and foremost stick to that whether the review books put to one side were requested or not.

  2. Like you, I don’t get many unsolicited requests. It may be because I am still a small blogger, or it may be because I post a warning on my blog that I expect high quality and a professional edit before I’ll even consider it. I also make it clear that the review is on my terms and I won’t necessarily be nice to the book. I think it scares some authors away ha ha! But that’s good, because poor editing makes me rageface.

    The books I do request from Netgalley have to be ones I would purchase in a book store, and if I end up loving them enough I do actually purchase finished copies of them. I am trying to ease myself out of Netgalley so I can go back to my own-to-read pile, but it’s hard.

    • I don’t think I scare anyone away… I think it’s because I’m still fairly small myself. I’m a very, very patient reader and even though I can pick out most errors in text easily, I can ignore it if the story is good and they are just here and there. I’ll only mention it in my review to let extra sensitive readers know that they should probably skip it.
      I also am careful about the books that I pick up from NetGalley. There isn’t a book that I’ve picked up from there that I haven’t considered purchasing before I request it and there are a few that I really want to add to my personal collection. I promise myself every time I leave a review at NetGalley that I will just post the review and walk away…. so far I’ve failed dismally. 😉

  3. Pingback: Tell Us About Your BOOK Blog? | I LOVE BOOKS

Leave a Reply

