Let’s Talk! (Week #25 – 4/19/13)

We’re up to week 25 of Let’s Talk! It’s sparked some very interesting and lively conversations and given us all something to think about. That’s always a good thing. Here’s what Smash and Kt have to tell us about the weekly meme.

Originally hosted by Melissa from i swim for oceans, Smash & Kt took her original inspiration, and made it their own, expanding it to more than just books. Let’s get personal (but respectfully so) and learn more about one another!  Each week, a different question will be posted along with a place to link up your posts and visit other people’s responses. This meme is definitely meant to bring out conversation and meet new people. So, Let’s Talk!

And here’s Today’s Question:

What is your favorite spot to read? Have you changed your furniture layout to better accommodate reading (i.e. purchasing certain laps or chairs)

I might have a place or two that I like to read. Some of my places are seasonal…. and not just because they are outside. We live in a VERY old house that is in a constant state of reconstruction. (Please keep that in mind when you look at the pics I’m about to post.) We also don’t have a central heating system so the upstairs rooms aren’t heated any more than they have to be during the winter. Therefore, I go where the heat is in the winter and I have free run of several rooms for the rest of the year. Trust me… I take advantage of every nook and cranny.

Chair1Currently, this is my spot of choice. It’s a corner in the same room as our TV but I plug in my headphones and either listen to Pandora or iTunes and get my read on regardless. There are currently 2 bookshelves in this room.

Corner2My next go-to spot is in a room that is in the middle of that reconstruction period I mentioned. It’s not there right now, but there is normally a chair in this corner that has a table with a lamp beside it. It’s nice and quiet and I can usually hide in this corner without being noticed. My husband says he has plans for this room when it’s done which include prime reading locations. We shall see. 😉

Chair2Once the weather gets warm I take advantage of our front porch. Since I live on the Eastern Shore of Virginia I have to fight the bugs, but they usually aren’t a problem in the afternoon. They usually chase me inside around dusk. I also use this spot to work in the afternoon on my laptop. It’s spring and I need to replace the cushions that our dogs decided to ‘eat’, but you get the idea.

Chair3When I get desperate for solitude or need to get away from chatter, I slip into the foyer of our house. That sounds crazy I know but even though we have a chair and a sofa there, no one usually sits around. It’s currently stacked with items that my husband acquired from his parents’ home in Florida, but we’re working on finding spots in our house for all of it.

Chair4Then there’s my office, which is currently the catch all for what everyone in our family doesn’t want in their ‘space’ but doesn’t want to get rid of either. I’ll be switching rooms soon (more on that later) but when I can scramble through all the clutter, this is one of my favorite spots to read. The bookshelf to the right is one of four in the room.

Corner1Given all the nooks and crannies I’ve shown you so far, you wouldn’t think that I would have a ‘dream’ spot, but I do. The room that my husband is currently painting has one of two places in our home that would be perfect for a window seat. It’s been a dream of mine since we bought the house 13 years ago, but I just can’t seem to talk him into it. *sigh*

So what about you? Do you have a favorite reading spot? Join this week’s discussion and Let’s Talk!

2 comments on “Let’s Talk! (Week #25 – 4/19/13)

  1. Why the heck won’t he do a window seat??? Tell him about all the storage space you could get underneath. I, too, want a window seat one day…

Leave a Reply

