Let’s Talk! (Week #23 – 4/5/13)

We’re up to week 23 of Let’s Talk! It’s sparked some very interesting and lively conversations and given us all something to think about. That’s always a good thing. Here’s what Smash and Kt have to tell us about the weekly meme.

Originally hosted by Melissa from i swim for oceans, Smash & Kt took her original inspiration, and made it their own, expanding it to more than just books. Let’s get personal (but respectfully so) and learn more about one another!  Each week, a different question will be posted along with a place to link up your posts and visit other people’s responses. This meme is definitely meant to bring out conversation and meet new people. So, Let’s Talk!

And here’s Today’s Question:

When you get on the computer, what sites distract you from working on your blog?

The bad part about this question for me is that those pesky distractions not only keep me from working on my blog, but working in general. My computer is my job and it also requires me to be online so getting distracted is something I try really, really hard not to do…. and for the record, more times than not, my will power sucks. *sigh*

So what are the sites that distract me the most. That’s pretty easy to answer considering that all I have to do for reference is to look at the tabs at the top of my browser. Here are the ones that stay open:

  • Facebook – My kids say that I started using Facebook to stalk them…. they may or may not be right about that. There are times that I wonder if I would know anything about what was going on in their lives if I wasn’t on Facebook. (Before you get too concerned about my parenting skills, my ‘kids’ are 27, 25 and 20.) Most of my ‘friends’ on Facebook are people I’ve known for a very long time – face to face friends. It’s fun to make connections with people I grew up with, which I think is why most people use Facebook – or at least why they started. The longer I’m on it though the more of my blogging and author friends I follow. Oh yeah, I also have a business Facebook Page so I do occasionally use it for work…. so that makes the time I spend there totally legit, right? *snickers*
  • Twitter – I have been known to peruse Twitter from time to time. To be totally honest, my time spent on Twitter isn’t nearly what it used to be. It’s not that I’ve abandoned it… not by a long shot. It’s just that I don’t have the time that I used to and it seems like when I can find the time, no one is there. *sigh* I miss my Twitter buds, but when I do get the chance I can spend hours there and not even realize it.
  • Goodreads – I’m finding more and more people, authors, groups and books there all the time. It’s an amazing place to get lost in. I find myself looking at the updates and noticing a book that someone is reading or has put on their shelf. Then, of course, I have to check the book out. Then I have to see what else the author has written that I might want to check out. Then I have to see who else has read the book in question just so I know if it fits into what I usually read. Then…. well you get the picture. Eventually all that snooping around leads me to my next distraction….
  • Amazon – I really don’t have to explain why this page is a dangerous, dangerous place now do I? I didn’t think so.
  • Then there are the places that I don’t necessarily keep open as a tab, but they are usually only a click away. NetGalley is a place that I really need to learn to stay away from, but it’s not gonna happen. There are also various artwork sites that, although I use them primarily for work, I can spend hours looking for just the right graphic or photo. I do get lost in YouTube from time to time, but I can also honestly say that my time spent there is pretty evenly split between tutorials for Photoshop and Illustrator and entertainment. I like to learn new techniques and once I start looking at one another one catches my eye. It’s kind of addicting.

So what about you? Do you have a distraction (or distractions) that keep you from giving your blog the time and attention it deserves? Join this week’s discussion and Let’s Talk!

6 comments on “Let’s Talk! (Week #23 – 4/5/13)

  1. I don’t use Goodreads as well as I could or even should. I tend to use it just to keep track of my reading and friends reviews but not much else. I already have so much to read that I don’t find myself searching for books like I used to. In fact that sends me into a panic thinking of all the books I’ll never be able to read lol

    • I keep finding tools and groups and all kinds of stuff on Goodreads that I didn’t know was there. I need to look around some more, but I just don’t have the time. *sigh*
      I also know what you mean about not needing more books. I went around my shelves the other day just counting the physical books that I haven’t read yet. It was a scary number. I don’t even want to look at my Kindle list. The thing is though, I still want more! LOL 😉

    • It’s sad, isn’t it? My computer time hasn’t slowed down by a long shot, but that’s work so it doesn’t count. It’s the random and fun computer time that is suffering. *sigh*

  2. Goodreads is a great place to get lost in the books. And I’m finding more and more YouTubers to follow. I usually play them in the am when getting ready for work or driving (scary thought huh?).

    • The only YouTubers I follow are the ones that I use for tutorials. I do look around there a lot though when a new movie is coming out or when a series on TV that I follow has teasers. I don’t watch a lot of TV though so that’s a short and sweet list. 😉 And yes Youtube on your morning commute is a tad scary.

Leave a Reply

