Let’s Talk! (Week #22 – 3/29/13)

We’re up to week 22 of Let’s Talk! It’s sparked some very interesting and lively conversations and given us all something to think about. That’s always a good thing. Here’s what Smash and Kt have to tell us about the weekly meme.

Originally hosted by Melissa from i swim for oceans, Smash & Kt took her original inspiration, and made it their own, expanding it to more than just books. Let’s get personal (but respectfully so) and learn more about one another!  Each week, a different question will be posted along with a place to link up your posts and visit other people’s responses. This meme is definitely meant to bring out conversation and meet new people. So, Let’s Talk!

And here’s Today’s Question:

Does your family approve of blogging and reading so much? How do you compromise when they object?

Other than the occasional ‘you have a serious problem’ from my youngest daughter and the more than occasional ‘you really need to get a life’ from my oldest, they really don’t pay too much attention to me and my reading. That may be because I’ve passed my love of reading on to them and if I have any free time at all it’s spent with a book in my hand or my Kindle. It’s pretty much a given. We trade books and talk about them too, which I love. As far as the blog goes, unless I show them something specific, I don’t think anyone in my family has actually visited it and looked around. That’s okay though.

So what about you? Do you have to justify your reading and blogging? Join this week’s discussion and Let’s Talk!

12 comments on “Let’s Talk! (Week #22 – 3/29/13)

  1. I love that you can share the love of reading with your girls. My mom is a reader but no where near the level I am. She reads most of my suggestions though, even if they seem out of the ordinary for her. I’ve found that she loves PNR and YA fantasy, and the occasional fiction read, like Life of Pi.

    • Oh, I read way more than they do, but we recommend books to each other all the time. My youngest is the one who actually got me to read the Twilight books which is what got me to start picking up YA books in the first place. I guess in a way she helped create this monster 😉

  2. Congratulations on passing your love of reading on to your children! That’s a great achievement these days, when it’s so easy to find other things to do. I think I’d rather my husband doesn’t waste his time reading my blog – I practically tell him everything I’m thinking all the time anyway!

    • Yep, it’s great. I raid my youngest’s book shelves and I recommend books to her all the time. Some she picks up and some she puts aside. She’s not as patient a reader as I am, so a book really has to grab her in the first couple of pages. I’m always excited when one of those reads comes from an Indie author. I love spreading the book love 😉 As for my blog, it’s probably just as well that my kids and husband don’t peruse it. I catch enough grief from them (in a joking way) as it is. *blush*

  3. Thankfully, my roommate’s as big a bookworm as I am, so he totally gets why I spend so much time reading. He always says he’d do the same, if it wasn’t for currently attending college. The best part of this is that since we tend to read the same stuff, we get to share awesome recommendations!

    • Oh I love sharing my shelves. One of my friends calls my house the ‘Deeds’ Library.’ Our spouses get tired of hearing us talk about the books we read. I’d love to have someone in my house that loved ALL the books that I do. *sigh* Like so many others, I think that’s why I started this blog in the first place.

  4. Love this talk! Funnily enough while visiting my mom she said I needed to get out into the sun more! We do live in different states and I don’t get to visit often but I tried to only read while she was at work!! AND it was winter! My sister also said that I better not have much to do while I’m visiting. But she barely reads a book a year.

    My wonderful hubby does understand though, and randomly buys me books for gifts! ❤ He's a keeper!

  5. My love of reading comes from my family and since they are all on my account—they don’t care at all. In fact, you would think I committed a crime when I put myself on a book buying budget LOL They aren’t handling it well 🙂

    • I read a lot when I was younger and then it dropped off, especially when the kids were younger. Now that they’re grown, I’ve picked back up again (obviously.) I’m just glad that they love it too… 😉

  6. My kiddo will occasionally sit down and read a bunch of reviews, if I have it up and am working on it. BUT the love of reading we totally share to. Anytime ME and Sid go to the car, we both have an electronic book & a physical book. It makes my heart smile.

    • I honestly don’t know if my kids have read any of my reviews. My kids all love to read though and that has been passed on to my grandson. I recently had to buy a new copy of a Dr. Seuss book because my kids had worn it out and it had also turned into one of my grandson’s favorites. That’s what makes my heart smile… the book love just keeps going 😉

Leave a Reply

