Let’s Talk! (Week #21 – 3/22/13)

We’re up to week 21 of Let’s Talk! It’s sparked some very interesting and lively conversations and given us all something to think about. That’s always a good thing. Here’s what Smash and Kt have to tell us about the weekly meme.

Originally hosted by Melissa from i swim for oceans, Smash & Kt took her original inspiration, and made it their own, expanding it to more than just books. Let’s get personal (but respectfully so) and learn more about one another!  Each week, a different question will be posted along with a place to link up your posts and visit other people’s responses. This meme is definitely meant to bring out conversation and meet new people. So, Let’s Talk!

And here’s Today’s Question:

Are too many books being made into movies?

I’ve never really thought about it much – about the ‘too many’ aspect anyway. I love it when one of my favorite books comes to life on the screen. Then, like almost everyone else, I lament about how much unlike the book the movie is. When it’s done right though, it’s great.

In a sneaky sort of crazy way I hope that books being turned into books will help get people to actually read those books, especially the ones that I adore. (Harry Potter, City of Bones, Hunger Games, etc.) In a not so crazy way, some of those movies being released that are based on books have made me want to track them down. Some of them have actually pushed me to read the books that I’ve been putting off  (Beautiful Creatures, Perks of Being a Wallflower, etc.) because I HATE to see a movie before I read the book.

So what about you? Do you think that there are too many books making the move to Hollywood? Join this week’s discussion and Let’s Talk!

8 comments on “Let’s Talk! (Week #21 – 3/22/13)

  1. Yes! I agree with you … I hope that seeing the movies makes more people think, “Hmm … I wonder what the book is like?” I try to see movies AFTER I read the book, but sometimes I just can’t make my deadlines — hubs’ll want to see a movie or I’ll go with a friend. Eventually I think I forget enough that I can read the book, but I tend to favourite the first thing — the movie or the book — that I watch or read.

    • I haven’t seen Perks yet, but my daughter keeps begging me to. I liked the Hunger Games movie. Some things changed but it definitely gave you the same ‘feel’ as the book. I don’t know if I would have liked it as much if I hadn’t read the books first though.

  2. Agree. It is really good for the author community. I just don’t want to see authors writing books with a movie deal in mind. Like I Am Four. I don’t want them to skimp on depth for cheap thrills.

    • Yeah, I don’t agree with that either. I haven’t read I Am Four or seen the movie, but I know exactly what you mean. There are some books that I really wish would be turned into movies though, especially ones that have turned the first book in a series into a movie and didn’t continue with the rest. Eragon is one of them. I loved the movie and I adored the books. (I did mention that I’m an eclectic reader right?)
      There are several movies that have gotten me to read the books. The very first one I remember that happening with was Stephen King’s The Shining. I just hope that a lot of these YA books that are being adapted into movies spark some interest in their targeted audience and get them to pickup the books. 😉

  3. I’m torn. On one hand, it seems like if there is any kind of hype with a book, it’s immediately made into a movie. That does kind of get old for me. Just because something is popular doesn’t mean it needs to me made into a movie. I cringe when I think about the 50 Shades movie rumors.

    But at the same time, when I read a book that I can’t get out of my head, I kind of like the idea of a movie because I’d get to expirience in a whole new way. But I always, always read the book first.

Leave a Reply

