By a Thread (Elemental Assassin #6) by Jennifer Estep


ByAThreadI never thought I’d need a vacation from being an assassin….

My name is Gin Blanco, and I’m the assassin the Spider. All the Ashland’s lowlifes are gunning for me and trying to make a name for themselves by taking out the Spider. So I think it’s a good idea to get out of Ashland for a while until things cool down.

So I’m headed south to a swanky beach town, along with my baby sister, Bria, for a weekend of fun in the sun. But when an old friend of Bria’s is threatened by a powerful vampire with deadly elemental magic, it looks like I’ll have to dig my silverstone knives out of my suitcase after all. But this time, not even my own Ice and Stone power may be enough to save me from coming home in a pine box

Yep, my Elemental Assassin reviews are getting kinda boing. Why? Not because the books are boring… not by a long shot. It’s because I love each book as the one before it and for all the same reasons. *sigh* Let’s see if I can freshen this one up a bit, shall we?

By a Thread opens not long after Spider’s Revenge ended. Big, bad Mab may be gone, but the threats have lingered. Sure, they’re not nearly as deadly as the Fire Elemental but they are annoying and looking over her shoulder and scaring innocent customers on daily basis is starting to wear on Gin. Seems everyone wants their chance to prove they can take out the Spider. Add to that the fact that she’s still not sure about her shaky relationship with Bria and there’s more than enough tension to go around. A vacation would seem to be a perfect solution, right? Well, not if you are an assassin, retired or not. It shouldn’t surprise anyone that Gin & Bria find trouble when they’re not even looking for it.

Of course the normal cast and crew were present: Jo-Jo, Sophia, Bria, Finn, Owen and even Fletcher. There were a few new characters thrown into the mix along with a notable blast from the past. I’m sure a lot of you know who I’m referring to, but I won’t mention his name… let’s just say whatever he gets in this book he had coming. and then some.  The vampire bad guy in By a Thread would have given Mab a run for her money I do believe. He was beyond cruel and pretty despicable in the way he gained his power.

I can’t say enough about how much I love all the supporting characters in this book. All of Gin’s ‘family’ are amazing. Bria and Owen were the stand outs this time though. Bria because of her coming to terms with a lot of things and Owen for his devotion, trust and support of Gin. I know that there are obstacles to come and I know that things aren’t going to stay perfect for them and it’s going to crush me when it happens – and it will happen – but in this book, he was perfect. I was in such a ‘Happy Place’ when I finished By a Thread that I really don’t want to pick up the next book quite yet. I won’t keep myself in denial for long though… *sigh* Widow’s Web is up next and I better get reading and stop putting off the inevitable because I really want to be able to take part in the Elemental Assassin Series Read-A-Long discussion. I didn’t make it for this one and that makes me sad because it’s really way too much fun to miss. 😉

By a Thread is the sixth book in Jennifer Estep’s Elemental Assassin series. I picked it up so I could take part in the Elemental Assassin Series Read-A-Long sponsored by Ashley at Smash Attack Reads and Brianna at The Book Vixen. Each month either Ashley or Brianna will share discussion questions about the current book featured in the Read-A-Long. Follow the link if you want to join in on the fun!

SeriouslySeries2013Plug

7 comments on “By a Thread (Elemental Assassin #6) by Jennifer Estep

  1. Yea! Glad to see Owen is still sticking around & Estep hadn’t broken my heart yet. Gin + Owen = forever or however long she gives them.

    Great job keeping me in the know but no spoilers EXCEPT Mab going down BUT we all know it is going to happen 😉

    • The heartbreak is inevitable Amy… *sigh* I love them together and their connection and his devotion was so over the top in this one that it’s going to crush me when it happens.

      I try to keep my reviews spoiler free…. sorry about the ‘Mab’ thing, but she had to go – it was inevitable. Sometimes it’s not the outcome but the journey that gets you there and trust me, it was quite a journey 😉

      • You didn’t shock me with the Mab. But glad to hear she isn’t going to drag out taking her down. I was thinking holy crap is this going to take 5 books…that’ll get old.

        Heartbreak! NO!!!!

      • Yeah, that’s kinda inevitable too… I’ve felt like he was too good to be true for a while now. I don’t want it to happen, but honestly, how long can Gin stay happy? I might be wrong, but… I also hope that if something does happen that it’s fixable because I really like Gin and Owen together. But you know how evil authors are. Grrr!!!!

      • I kinda, sorta know what’s coming… which is going to make it really hard to start reading Widow’s Web, but I’m going to start it really soon. I loved the way this one ended and that’s going to make it twice as bad. I also loved the Bria stuff and Fin is just too good. At least I won’t have to wait for the next book once I finish Widow’s Web. I have a feeling that I’m really going to want to have that one right away. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

