Let’s Talk! (Week #18 – 3/1/13)

We’re up to week 18 of Let’s Talk! It’s sparked some very interesting and lively conversations and given us all something to think about. That’s always a good thing. Here’s what Smash and Kt have to tell us about the weekly meme.

Originally hosted by Melissa from i swim for oceans, Smash & Kt took her original inspiration, and made it their own, expanding it to more than just books. Let’s get personal (but respectfully so) and learn more about one another!  Each week, a different question will be posted along with a place to link up your posts and visit other people’s responses. This meme is definitely meant to bring out conversation and meet new people. So, Let’s Talk!

And here’s Today’s Question:

Do you need romance in your books to read them?

If not, what else “hooks” you?

Absolutely not! *looks over my latest posts, goodreads shelves, NetGalley choices, downloaded freebies and twitter comments* Well, maybe I should put that another way. *blush*

Do I NEED romance in a book to read it? No, not really. I do obviously lean that way however. I still consider myself an eclectic reader despite what my current choices have been. My shelves are full of PNR, UF, Steampunk, Mystery, Horror in both YA and Adult genres, plus a lot more. I honestly don’t read romance strictly for the romance. First and foremost, it has to have a good story line, believable characters that I can relate to and I absolutely love the ones that make me think. Two of the books that I’m reading right now have little or no romance in them at all, and they both fall into my ‘favorites’ category. When romance graces the pages of these books I just consider it an added bonus. I don’t expect it when I pick them up.

Of course there are books that I expect to be loaded with romance, and those more often than not fall into the PNR category. There’s still a lot more to those books as well.

So, what else hooks me? Just about anything! I’ve got favorite authors, favorite series and favorite bloggers whose advice I take whole heartedly. I’m always looking for something new and interesting so you never know what I might pick up next. I’m addicted, what can I say?

So what about you? Are you addicted to romance and consider it a must in the books you read? Join this week’s discussion and Let’s Talk!

6 comments on “Let’s Talk! (Week #18 – 3/1/13)

    • I don’t NEED romance either. Just makes it more fun 😉 I’m reading Hammered right now and I’ve loved all of the Iron Druid Chronicles books just as much. There’s hardly any romance in them at all.

    • Exactly! I hate corny romances that throw the romance in there just to call it a romance. Good story and good characters first. If a romance gets thrown into the mix and it’s done well, I consider it a bonus. 😉

Leave a Reply

